USC Digital Library Spanning a wide range of visual media, the USC Digital Library holds almost 400,00 objects, 1.1 million files that offer digital images of drawings, illuminated manuscripts, maps, photographs, posters, prints, rare illustrated books (all of which can be viewed at the highest resolution available), as well as audio and video recordings. Encompassing the subject strengths of the vast collections of the libraries at the University of Southern California, these materials represent the applied sciences, fine and decorative arts, history, performing arts, and social sciences. A portion of the images contained in the USC Digital Library come from the collections of collaborating institutions which, like USC, have valuable archival collections that are of interest to a wide range of people.
USC Shoah Foundation - Visual History Archive . This archive is an online portal that allows users to search through and view more than 55,000 video testimonies of survivors and witnesses of genocide. In 1994, after the filming of Schindler’s List, Steven Spielberg founded the Survivors of the Shoah Visual History Foundation with the aim of videotaping 50,000 first-person accounts by Holocaust survivors and witnesses. The massive global documentation effort began with the first interview on April 18, 1994. Each testimony is a unique source of insight and knowledge that offers powerful stories from history that demand to be explored and shared.
Initially a repository of Holocaust testimony, the Archive expanded in April of 2013 to include 64 testimonies from the 1994 Rwandan Tutsi Genocide and again in April 2014 to include 12 testimonies from the 1937 Nanjing Massacre in China. The vast majority of the testimonies contain a complete personal history of life before, during, and after the interviewee’s firsthand experience with genocide. The Archive has continued to grow and has expanded to include accounts of geneocide and massacres in countries worldwide. All told, testimonies have been conducted in 62 countries and 39 languages. They average a little over two hours each in length and were conducted in 65 countries and 43 languages. - see Collections
For a detailed account of the growth of the USC Shoah Foundation see “Our History”.
USC Digital Repository Preservation, storage, and access: "The Repository Team draws upon the extensive resources of USC, particularly USC Libraries, the USC Digital Library, the USC Shoah Foundation and the USC Information Technology Services group."