CAMBRIDGE COMPANIONS - A series of authoritative guides, written by leading experts.
The Cambridge History of Christianity: Volume 7, Enlightenment, Reawakening and Revolution 1660-1815 by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 1139054120Publication Date: 2008-03-28During the tumultuous period of world history from 1660 to 1815, three complex movements combined to bring a fundamental cultural reorientation to Europe and North America, and ultimately to the wider world. The Enlightenment transformed views of nature and of the human capacity to master nature. The religious reawakenings brought a revival of heart-felt, experiential Christianity. Finally revolution, the political and social upheavals of the late eighteenth and early nineteenth centuries, challenged established ideas of divine-right monarchies and divinely ordained social hierarchies, and promoted more democratic government, notions of human rights and religious toleration. A new religious climate emerged, in which people were more likely to look to their own feelings and experiences for the basis of their faith. During this same period, Christianity spread widely around the world as a result of colonialism and missions, and responded in diverse ways to its encounters with other cultures and religious traditions.
The Cambridge History of French Literature by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 0511976321Publication Date: 2011-05-28From Occitan poetry to Francophone writing produced in the Caribbean and North Africa, from intellectual history to current films, and from medieval manuscripts to bandes dessinées, this History covers French literature from its beginnings to the present day. With equal attention to all genres, historical periods and registers, this is the most comprehensive guide to literature written in French ever produced in English, and the first in decades to offer such an array of topics and perspectives. Contributors attend to issues of orality, history, peripheries, visual culture, alterity, sexuality, religion, politics, autobiography and testimony. The result is a collection that, despite the wide variety of topics and perspectives, presents a unified view of the richness of French-speaking cultures. This History gives support to the idea that French writing will continue to prosper in the twenty-first century as it adapts, adds to, and refocuses the rich legacy of its past.
The Cambridge Introduction to French Literature by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 1316382761Publication Date: 2015-07-08In this highly accessible introduction, Brian Nelson provides an overview of French literature - its themes and forms, traditions and transformations - from the Middle Ages to the present. Major writers, including Francophone authors writing from areas other than France, are discussed chronologically in the context of their times, to provide a sense of the development of the French literary tradition and the strengths of some of the most influential writers within it. Nelson offers close readings of exemplary passages from key works, presented in English translation and with the original French. The exploration of the work of important writers, including Villon, Racine, Molière, Voltaire, Balzac, Flaubert, Zola, Proust, Sartre and Beckett, highlights the richness and diversity of French literature.
The Cambridge Companion to the French Novel by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 1139000233Publication Date: 2006-05-28This volume provides a unique and valuable insight into the novel in French over the past two centuries. Essays by acknowledged experts range widely over issues and texts, referring to earlier periods and other genres and literatures where relevant. Theoretical discussion is combined with close reading, and there is a challenging reassessment of major figures and traditional views. All quotations are translated and there is a chronology and guide to further reading, making this an essential working manual for all those interested in modern French fiction.
The Cambridge Companion to French Literature by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 1316455459Publication Date: 2015-11-16In this authoritative and accessible account of French literature, sixteen essays by leading specialists offer provocative insights into French literary culture, its genres, movements, themes, and historic turning points, including the cultural and linguistic challenges of today's multi-ethnic France. The French have, over the centuries, invented and reinvented writing, from the Arthurian romances of Chrétien de Troyes to Montaigne's Essays, which gave the world a new literary form and a new standard for writing about personal thought and experience; from the highly polished tragedies of French classicism to the satirical novels of the Enlightenment; from Proust's explorations of social and sexual mores to the 'New Novel' of the late twentieth century; and from Baudelaire's urban poetry to today's poetic experiments with sound and typography. The broad scope of this Companion, which goes beyond individual authors or periods, enables a deeper appreciation for the distinctive literature of France.
Portals to Ebooks - Access Available via USC Databases
Classiques Garnier Numérique Grand Corpus des littératures française et francophone, du Moyen Âge au 20e siècle - The Grand Corpus of French and Francophone Literatures from the Middle Ages to the 20th Century brings together four bodies of literature published by Classiques Garnier Numérique: a body of medieval literature, from the origins to the end of the 15th century, a body of narrative literature from the Middle Ages to the 20th century, corpus of the first French-speaking literature of black Africa, from its origins to Independence, corpus of the first French-speaking literature of the Indian Ocean, from its origins to Independence.
Proquest Ebook Central The database, ProQuest Ebook Central, is a web-based ebook lending platform which provides access to more than a million ebooks, with 100,000 new titles added each year.
Internet Resources
Internet Modern History Sourcebook- The Modern History Sourcebook is part of the Internet History Sourcebooks Project, a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented … for educational use. Primary sources are available here primarily for use in high-school and university/college courses. From the outset the site took a very broad view of the sources that should be available to students and as well as documents long associated with a "western civilization" approach to history also provides much information on Byzantine, Islamic, Jewish, Indian, East Asian, and African history. You will also find many documents especially relevant to women's history and LGBT studies. Among this resource’s multiple pages you will find (to name a few): Enlightenment, French Revolution, and 19thC France.