Skip to Main Content
Research Guides
? Ask Us / FAQS

Anthropology Research Guide: DATABASES & JOURNALS

Welcome to the primary research guide for Anthropology!

MAJOR ANTHROPOLOGY DATABASES

Anthropology Plus
Brings together into one resource the highly respected Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK.
AnthroSource
Provides full text access to publications from the American Anthropological Association. Some coverage on medical anthropology and ethnoarchaeology. Good for sociocultural and linguistic anthropology.
Abstracts in Anthopology
The only comprehensive abstracting journal in the field of anthropology, publishing three thousand abstracts per volume which provide a thorough coverage of anthropological scholarship in all its subfields: Cultural Anthropology, Physical Anthropology, Archaeology, and Linguistics.
Cambridge Core
This gateway to Cambridge University Press journals and ebooks includes subject areas for Anthropology and Archaeology.
Oxford Academic
Has sections of ebooks and journals devoted to Archaeology, Anthropology, Society & Culture, and more.
Gnomon Online
A database for ancient history, classical philology, and archaeology, this is an international bibliographical index to monographs, journal articles, conference papers, essays in collections, and dissertations.
America: History & Life With Full Text
The definitive index to articles and other literature covering the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada, from the 15th century to the present.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Includes two collections: 1) Ethnic NewsWatch, a current collection (1990-present) of newspapers,magazines and journals from ethnic and minority presses. 2) Ethnic NewsWatch: A History (1959-1989), which offers both national and regional coverage focusing on African American, Hispanic American, and Native American presses..
GenderWatch
Features publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas including business, education, literature and the arts, health sciences, history, political science, public policy, sociology, gender and women's studies and more.

eHRAF WORLD CULTURES

HRAF (Human Relations Area Files), founded at Yale University, is a consortium of educational, research, cultural organizations, and government agencies whose mission is to encourage and facilitate the study of human culture, society, and behavior.

eHRAF World Cultures contains information on present and past aspects of cultural and social life for a worldwide sample of societies.  Browse and search across ethnographic collections comprising hundreds of societies with documents subject-indexed at the paragraph level by HRAF anthropologists.

For a quick-start guide on how to browse the database, click here.

For a list of cultures covered, click here.

For a list of subjects covered, click here.

For a basic guide on cross-cultural research by HRAF, click here.

For more information on teaching with eHRAF, click here.

TRISMEGISTOS DATABASE

Trismegistos is a database where information can be found on texts from the ancient world, particularly late period Egypt and the Nile Valley (roughly BC 800 to 800 AD).

There are several databases within Trismegistos Database, including:

INTERDISCIPLINARY DATABASE: ART & ARCHITECTURE ePORTAL

Art & Architecture ePortal is an eBook resource that features important works of scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design, with more than 60k fair use images across 300+ titles and more added monthly.

The site includes many out-of-print titles, key backlist, and recent releases from some of the world's finest academic and museum publishers.