Anthropology Research Guide: ANTHOLOGIES, ARCHIVES, CATALOGUES, COLLECTIONS & DIGITAL PROJECTS

USC Architecture & Fine Arts (AFA) Library has a copy of the Exhibition Book

Stop by and check it out!

The Aberdeen Bestiary Project Provided by the University of Aberdeen, "The Aberdeen Bestiary (Aberdeen University Library MS 24) is considered to be one of the best examples of its type due to its lavish and costly illuminations. The manuscript, written and illuminated in England around 1200, is of added interest since it contains notes, sketches and other evidence of the way it was designed and executed. Its text and appearance are closely related to the Ashmole Bestiary, Oxford, Bodleian Library, MS Ashmole 1511 which provides further insights into workshop practice."

MARGOT Project Provided by the University of Waterloo, "MARGOT is a long-term research project devoted to publishing fully searchable editions of either generally inaccessible texts from the French Middle Ages and the Early Modern period (the Ancien Régime) or of texts in connection with a specific project from the same time period."

Online Resources for Medievalists "Although by no means comprehensive, this list offers a selection of websites that are highly useful for medievalists."

Virtual Monastic Library of Lorsch "Bibliotheca Laureshamensis - digital, gathers 300 medieval manuscripts from 68 different libraries."

Visualizing Chaucer: A Robbins Library Digital Project  Provided by the University of Rochester, “This Robbins Library Digital Project seeks to capture postmedieval illustrated versions of Chaucer’s work. The project provides annotations for books containing illustrated versions of Chaucer’s writings and organizes these images by character/work for easy accessibility. Our intention is to make these images readily accessible, where copyright allows, for teachers, students, and scholars interested in the afterlife of Chaucer’s works.”

Islamic Heritage Project Provided by Harvard University Libraries and Museums, "Materials in the Islamic Heritage Project digital collection date from the 10th to the 20th centuries and represent many: regions, including Saudi Arabia, North Africa, Egypt, Syria, Lebanon, Palestine, Iran, Iraq, Turkey, and South, Southeast, and Central Asia; languages, primarily Arabic, Persian, and Ottoman Turkish; also Urdu, Chagatai, Malay, Gujarati, Indic languages, and several Western languages; and subjects, including religious texts and commentaries; Sufism; history, geography, law, and the sciences (astronomy, astrology, mathematics, medicine); poetry and literature; rhetoric, logic, and philosophy; calligraphy, dictionaries and grammar, as well as biographies and autobiographical works."

Archives Portal Europe  - Provides access to information on archival material from different European countries as well as information on archival institutions throughout the continent.

The Domesday Book Provided by The United Kingdom National Archives,"Domesday: Britain's finest treasure. Domesday is Britain’s earliest public record. It contains the results of a huge survey of land and landholding commissioned by William I in 1085. Domesday is by the far the most complete record of pre-industrial society to survive anywhere in the world and provides a unique window on the medieval world."

The Crusades Project: A Robbins Library Digital Project Provided by the University of Rochester, “This bibliography (a partner site to the Camelot Project) will provide annotations of narratives that take their influence and inspiration from the historical crusades. The project is currently focused on English and American literature, but our long-term goal is to provide substantial annotated bibliographies and essay-based entries for other European (and eventually Middle-Eastern and Asian) countries as well. Our hope, in producing such a resource, is to encourage further research and discussion of the Crusades and their effect on literature at all educational levels.”