Political Science *

This page provides descriptive links to resources that support research about the upcoming 2024 national, state, and local campaigns and elections.

CONTENT COMING SOON

CONTENT COMING SOON

CONTENT COMING SOON

Described below are databases and other resources that provide access to research and analysis of campaigns and elections.

RISK ANALYSIS

• Economist Intelligence Unit Viewpoint, U.S. Elections -- the EIU provides in-depth analysis, insight, and data on political and economic trends throughout the world. When entering the database, click on the current themes drop-down menu at the top of the page and choose 2024 U.S. elections to view the latest analytical essays focused on the wide-ranging implications of the U.S. elections in relation to geopolitics and the global economy. The site also includes the Trump Risk Index, which provide in-depth analysis of a potential Trump presidency and its implications for the global economy.

DATABASES--Multidisciplinary

• JSTOR -- a multidisciplinary archive of scholarly journal articles covering most major disciplines in the social sciences and humanities. Useful for identifying historical research on a topic; it does not cover current research published within the last three to five years.
• Policy Commons -- platform for objective, fact-based research from the world’s leading policy experts, nonpartisan think tanks, and intergovernmental and non-governmental organizations. The database provides advanced searching across millions of pages of books, articles, working papers, reports, policy briefs, data sets, tables, charts, media, case studies, and statistical publications, including archived reports from more than 200 defunct think tanks. Coverage is international in scope.
• ProQuest Multiple -- a database with extensive full-text and linked coverage of scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers. Good place to begin your search for scholarly journal articles or current news coverage of a topic.

DATABASES--Disciplinary

• America: History and Life -- database that covers the history of the United States and Canada. It includes key English-language historic journals, selected historic journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and selected relevant journals in the social sciences and humanities.
• Historical Abstracts -- this database includes key history journals from major countries, as well as relevant selected journals from the social sciences and humanities. Covers world history outside of the United States and Canada. All abstracts are in English. This is a good source for understanding the history of U.S. elections and campaigns as seen through the eyes of scholars outside of the United States and Canada.
• Worldwide Political Science Abstracts -- provides indexing of the international journal literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration and policy. Over 1,700 titles are monitored for coverage and, of these, 67% are published outside of the United States. Excellent source to obtain research on American elections and campaigns at all levels of government.

DATABASES--Newspapers

• Access World News -- comprehensive news collection for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Essential source for locating state and local coverage of elections and campaigns.
• Los Angeles Times --
• New York Times --
• Wall Street Journal --

STATISTICS