Political Science *

Listed below are links to sites that provide data on election results outside of the United States.

• African Elections Database -- a comprehensive archive of election results for the 49 countries of Sub-Saharan Africa. Coverage ends around 2012. Each country's election page starts with a political profile that gives an overview of the political leadership and a brief history of the political situation in the country since its independence. The database is a useful source of historical data of information on presidential and legislative election results, dating back to the mid-1960s or earlier for most countries.
• African Elections Project [copy and paste this link: http://www.africanelections.org/] -- established 2008, this is an online portal covering elections across the continent with the vision of enhancing the ability of journalists, citizen journalists, and the news media to provide more timely and relevant elections information and knowledge while undertaking monitoring of specific and important aspects of governance.
• Australian Politics and Elections Database -- provides detailed information about Australian national and state parliamentary politics and elections, including votes won and seats gained by Australian political parties, the periods in office of various state, national and territorial elected officials, and summary tables on state and territory parliaments, elections, and governments over more than a century.
• Carter Center Election Reports -- a collection of reports documenting ninety-six elections in thirty-eight countries. During elections, the observers monitor voting and counting and remain after the ballots have been counted to monitor vote tabulation.This information is then summarized into reports, often including data on results and voter turnout.
• Comparative Political Data Sets -- provided by the Institute of Political Science at the University of Bern in Germany, data is divided into several part: Part 1 has dates of national parliamentary elections, voter turnout, and share of votes by party for 23 OECD countries from 1960-2009. Part II has election dates and turnout for parliamentary and presidential elections in 28 post-Communist countries from 1989-2006. Parts I and II also contains some additional demographic, socio- and economic variables. Part III combines I and II for 35 OECD and/or EU countries, 1990-2010. This data set is suited for cross national, longitudinal and pooled time series analyses.
• Constituency-Level Elections Archive (CLEA) -- a repository of detailed election results at the constituency level for lower house legislative elections from around the world. Subset data can be generated by region, country, or time period. The datasets are free and available for download in the following formats: Excel, R, SPSS, and Stata.
• Election Passport [copy and paste this link: http://www.electionpassport.com/] -- provides access to comprehensive datasets of constituency election results in over ninety countries throughout the world. The data includes votes won by very small parties, independents, and candidate names that are often difficult to locate. This data will eventually be incorporated into the CLEA database linked above but, for now, search both sites.
• Election Resources on the Internet [copy and paste this link: http://www.electionresources.org/] -- this site offers detailed national and local election statistics, including sections dedicated to election results and electoral systems in diverse countries around the world. The site also has a useful directory of other election resources available on the web and maintains a blog that covers key elections worldwide.
• ElectionGuide -- launched in 1998 through a grant from USAID and currently funded by the same, this site provides the most comprehensive and timely source of verified election information available online, including national elections around the world; sub-national elections of high interest; political parties and candidates; referendum provisions; news on election-related laws and developments around the world; political institutions and electoral systems; and, election results and voter turnout.
• European Election Database -- this site provides access to election results on a regional level for European countries. The archive covers the period from 1990 until present and publishes results from parliamentary elections, European Parliament elections, presidential elections, as well as EU-related referendums for a total of 35 European countries. Regional election results are presented according to the Nomenclature of Territorial Units for Statistics (NUTS), level 1 to 3. Data are collected from national election authorities, national statistical agencies, and other official sources.
• Global Elections Database [copy and paste this link: http://www.globalelectionsdatabase.com/] -- provides information on the results of both national and sub-national elections around the world presented at two levels of analysis: results of elections within a country as a whole or within particular constituencies or districts of a country. All parties are included in the database regardless of the number of votes that they won. The data are based on countries' official election results and are accessible as spreadsheets, tables, and GIS maps.
• IDEA [International Institute for Democracy and Electoral Assistance] -- a database unifying data from a variety of sources related to voter turnout, issues of direct democracy, gender quotas, political finance, electoral justice, and voting from abroad, electoral system design for countries around the world. Information on institutions and/or bodies responsible for managing elections  is being developed.
• International Foundation for Electoral Systems ElectionGuide -- produced by the International Foundation for Electoral Systems (IFES), an international nonprofit organization dedicated to strengthening electoral democracy, this is a comprehensive resource of verified election information that includes data on national elections around the world, including detailed  election results and voter turnout as well as information on sub-national elections of high interest, political parties and candidates, referendum provisions, political institutions and electoral systems, and news on election-related laws and developments around the world.
• Latin American Electronic Data Archive [copy and paste this link: http://lanic.utexas.edu/laeda/] -- the focus of the collection is to provide access to electoral data, household survey microdata, and data relevant to social policy evaluation relevant to Latin American research, policy analysis, and teaching. Data sets and related information can be downloaded from the LAEDA collection in the University of Texas Digital Repository (UTDR).
• Latin American Election Statistics: A Guide to Sources -- consists of a series of volumes on selected Latin American countries that provide chronologies of elections since independence at the municipal, state, and federal levels and lists sources of statistics for each election as identified. The statistics themselves are not reproduced on this site except occasionally for national-level results of presidential elections, seats won in congressional elections, or numbers of municipalities won by specific parties. Also included is information on events affecting election outcomes; the emergence and development of political parties; electoral code changes; and, on the roles of women, indigenous populations, and religious organizations in each country's electoral politics. Data is available from the early nineteenth century to about 2000 [data for Dominican Republic begins in 1791].
• Latin American Electoral Data [copy and paste this link: http://lanic.utexas.edu/laeda/directories/electoral/] -- directory containing links, organized by country, to sites containing electoral data, including the official electoral tribunal, individual collections of electoral data, and several archived sources. Resource is part of the Latin American Electronic Data Archive Project that seeks to collect, preserve, and provide access to data sets focused on electoral data, household surveys, and data relevant to public policy evaluation.
• Lijphart Elections Archive -- a static research collection of district level election results for approximately 350 national legislative elections in 26 countries that was maintained through 2003. The objective of the Archive was to systematically collect election statistics in as much detail as possible, including, as a minimum, the results at the level of the individual election districts in which votes are converted into seats. The Archive is now a closed collection, and the most recent publications are from the 1990s.
• The Manifesto Project -- analyzes parties’ election manifestos in order to study parties’ policy preferences. The Manifesto Project Dataset provides for the analysis of the policy preferences covers over 1000 parties from 1945 until today in over 50 countries on five continents. The projects main dataset is updated twice a year. It provides instant access to manifesto texts and content-analytical data and gives accessible ways to easily explore and visualize the data and text corpus.
• National Elections across Democracy and Autocracy (NELDA) -- a dataset that provides detailed information on all election events from 1945-2020. To be included, elections must be for a national executive figure, such as a president, or for a national legislative body, such as a parliament, legislature, constituent assembly, or other directly elected representative bodies.
• Parline -- provides authoritative access, downloading, and reuse of data on the parliaments of the world. It comprises more than 600 data points for every country where there is a functioning parliament and the site facilitates comparative data analysis. Parline is produced with the cooperation of national parliaments, who provide and check the data through a network of  "Parline Correspondents."
• Psephos [copy and paste this link: http://psephos.adam-carr.net/] -- archive of election data created and maintained by Dr. Adam Carr, a political and social activist in Australia. This is promoted to be the largest, most comprehensive and most up-to-date archive of electoral information in the world, with election statistics from 182 countries. Very good site to begin ones search for information.
• Voter Turnout Database -- provides access to voter turnout figures for 171 independent states, covering national presidential and parliamentary elections since 1945 from the International Institute for Democracy and Electoral Assistance. Always growing, the database also includes European Parliament elections, as presented by country using both the number of registered voters and voting age population as indicators, and in some cases the data includes statistics on spoilt ballot rate. The database allows you to search for data by country or field, and even download all the data from the database in one file.
• World Elections -- a non-partisan and neutral blog covering major world elections and referendums as well as discussions on matters directly related to elections, electoral systems, and voting behavior.  Entries are posted monthly beginning in October 2008.

Descriptions of resources are adapted or quoted from vendor websites.