Subject-specific databases - ENG
Using libraries in Japan
Web sites/resources - by format/typeWeb sites/resources - by subjectWeb sites/resources - for cinemaWeb sites/resources - for scienceWeb sites/resources - for statistical data on Japan
Executive/legislative/judicial branches & political parties
National archives/collections in JapanNational research/museum libraries in JapanUniversity/private libraries in JapanUniversity/research libraries in Japan
University of Southern California
USC Libraries
USC Libraries Monogram
Admin Sign In 

* Japanese Studies 

General research guide for Japan/ Japanese studies, consisting of English and Japanese sources.
Last update: Nov 12th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.usc.edu/japanese_studies  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

Table of Contents

 
 

Research Guide for Japanese Studies

This is a  general research guide  for Japanese studies, consisting of English and Japanese sources. Begin your search in the Asian studies and general databases, then in the subject-specific databases.

Asian studies database
Bibliography of Asian Studies  (books and journal articles)

General databases (click for an extensive list)
 WorldCat
  (books)
● ProQuest  (multiple databases)
● Academic OneFile  (journal articles) 
● Homer  (USC Library catalog)

Subject-specific databases (click for an extensive list)
 Historical Abstracts  (History)
● PAIS  (Social Sciences)
● MLA  (Literature)

          ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

For journal and newspaper articles, go to Journals - English and Newspapers.
For more resources, check Japanese studies online and Web resources.
For tips on Japanese Romanization and interlibrary loans from Japan, go to Romanji & interlibrary loan.
For finding information for a paper, go to Research examples.
Facilitate your research with these services: RefWorks, Interlibrary loan, Recommend-a-book, Library instruction, Reserve-a-library-space, and Subject specialists.

           ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
* Graduate students and faculty members, please check Japanese studies online, Romaji & interlibrary loan, Find more resources, and Websites

 

JS News

What is new?

 

Take a Glimpse of Japanese Culture

This is a video clip I found on Youtube, Vlastislav Matoušek on shakuhachi in Prague. Enjoy!

Clips previously shown: Samurai Champloo with a shamisen music
                          Komuso priest with a shakuhachi music


Loading Video Clip...
 

Japanese Studies Librarian

Profile ImageTomoko Bialock


Contact Info:
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
East Asian Library (DML 109A)
3550 Trousdale Parkway
Los Angeles, CA 90089-1825
213.740.8025 (DML)
740.5801 (TS); 740.7437 (fax)
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Send Email

Subjects:
Japanese Studies

 

Japan Time

Current time in Tokyo -

Tokyo

Quick Guides to Japan

 

Newly Arrived Japanese Materials

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait