Online streaming videos
The following databases feature streaming videos covering clinical skills and information on different therapeutic methods.
- Alexander Street Press Counseling and Therapy in Video This link opens in a new windowCounseling and Therapy in Video provides a first-hand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice. .
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowKanopy is a streaming video service that provides access to popular films and documentaries.
- Psychotherapy.net This link opens in a new windowThe Psychotherapy.net streaming video collection provides access to training videos in the field of counseling, psychotherapy, psychology, and addiction. The majority of the videos show therapists actually conducting therapy and demonstrating clinical skills, along with pre- and post-session discussion.
- SAGE Knowledge Video - Counseling & Psychotherapy This link opens in a new windowThis collection of over 130 hours of video draws upon a vast network of SAGE’s authors and editors. It includes many tutorials, interviews, and demonstrations, along with many more films addressing practitioner issues.
Sage Video
This is a clip from the tutorial, Reflecting, Paraphrasing, Reiterating and Summarizing. The tutorial illustrates and defines the different elements involved in listening within the patient- counselor exchange. These communication tools can facilitate a better understanding of the patient's needs and create an opportunity for the patient to further explore their own experience. View the entire tutorial or search the Sage Video online collection.
DVD's in Leavey Library
There are many DVDs on therapy and counseling in Leavey Libary. To search titles and for more information, go here: