About Measurement Tools
Tests/instruments/scales allow you to measure outcomes.
PsycTESTS contain the full-text of some tests, instruments & scales.
Tests are copyrighted. If you cannot find the full-text of the test via databases, journal articles and PsycTESTS, you may have to purchase the test directly from the publisher.
Sometimes you can view a test because it has been published in a journal article or dissertation.
Reviews of tests are available through the Mental Measurements Yearbook. If there isn't a review of the test you're looking for, search for the name of the test in Google Scholar to find the article it was originally published in. That article will give you all the information about the development of the test.
- PsycTESTS This link opens in a new windowPsycTESTS is a research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development. Records also discuss reliability and validity of the tool. Some records include full-text of the test.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) This link opens in a new windowUse MMY to find REVIEWS of testing instruments. Actual test instruments are NOT provided. Most reviews discuss validity and reliability of tool.
To purchase or obtain the actual test materials, you will need to contact the test publisher(s).
Health and Psychosocial Instruments: HAPI
Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) provides access to information on measurement instruments in health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information sciences. HaPI does not offer access to the test instruments themselves, but includes citations to freestanding instruments as well as instruments that have only appeared in journal or technical reports (published and unpublished). Copyright permission is needed to use any of the instruments found in HaPI
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) This link opens in a new windowLocate measurement instruments such as surveys, questionnaires, tests, surveys, coding schemes, checklists, rating scales, vignettes, etc. Scope includes medicine, nursing, public health , psychology, social work, communication, sociology, etc.
DSM 5
- Psychiatry Online- DSM5 eBookThe DSM 5 is used by behavioral science and health professionals and forensic and legal specialists to diagnose and classify mental disorders. Click on the link above to access the online edition.
