Research Guides: Medical Students: Years 3-4: Databases

Clinical Information Tools (Summaries)

Databases designed to provide information for clinicians at the point of care.

MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Limit search to publication type: practice guideline
PubMed@USC This link opens in a new window
Limit search to publication type: practice guideline
UpToDate This link opens in a new window An evidence-based resource covering multiple medical specialties. Includes topic monographs, patient education, practice updates, drug interactions, guidelines, and medical calculators. To obtain CME, create a personal profile and log in.
VisualDx This link opens in a new window Clinical information tool with emphasis on dermatological and opthalmological disorders. Thousands of images of diseases and disorders on different locations and skin tones. Search by diagnosis or build a differential diagnosis.

The following resources critically appraise journal articles.

Syntheses resources include the publication types: Systematic Review, Meta-Analysis.

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews provides access to full-text systematic reviews.

PubMed@USC This link opens in a new window
Limit search to publication types: Systematic Review or Meta-Analysis
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Limit search to publication types: Systematic Review or Meta-Analysis

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
For USC Full Text:
Go to Scholar Settings; Click on "Library Links" and type in “University of Southern California” in Library Links; select “ University of Southern California - Find it @ USC”.
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window Access to MEDLINE database through Ovid. Citations to articles related to clinical and research information in the bio-medical sciences. Coverage ranges from 1946-present.
PubMed@USC This link opens in a new window PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 12 million citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. This version of PubMed has been customized for USC users. Use the USC PubMed site to find the full-text of articles from over 1400 journals and information on local library holdings.
Scopus This link opens in a new window Large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes bibliometrics tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window ISI Citation Databases are multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information indexed so that you can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. USC has access to three citation databases:- Science Citation Index - Social Sciences Citation Index - Arts & Humanities Citation Index

ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window This database contains information on published and unpublished sources on thousands of educational topics. Updated monthly.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Abstract and citation database of scholarly literature in psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes journal articles, books, reports, theses, and dissertations from 1806 to present.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window Abstract database of sociology and social and behavioral sciences literature from 1952 to present. Includes journal articles, conference papers, books, and dissertations.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Interdisciplinary collection of journal articles, conference proceedings, and books. Collection of seven online database: Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Index Chemicus, Current Chemical Reactions, and Book Citation Index. Coverage is 1900-present.

Diagnosaurus This link opens in a new window Allows searching of over 1000 differential diagnoses by symptoms, diseases and organ systems. Link from Diagnosaurus directly into other books within AccessMedicine.
GIDEON This link opens in a new window Database for diagnosing infectious diseases. Includes differential diagnosis tool, current information on disease outbreaks, and epidemiological data.
VisualDx This link opens in a new window Clinical information tool with emphasis on dermatological and opthalmological disorders. Thousands of images of diseases and disorders on different locations and skin tones. Search by diagnosis or build a differential diagnosis.