Library Licensed Resources with Images
These sources include multiple images relevant to health sciences education. You must search each source individually to find relevant images.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new windowSearches within health sciences materials created by Elsevier publishers. Go to Browse--More--Multimedia to browse, or run keyword search then limit to Content Type -> images.
- Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health This link opens in a new windowConduct a search and filter results to images.
- Thieme MedOne Education This link opens in a new windowConduct a search and filter to Images / Videos / Audio.
- McGraw-Hill Medical searchUse this site to search inside the full text of all materials in all subscribed McGraw-Hill online book collections (All Access... products like AccessMedicine, AccessPharmacy, etc., FA Davis PT collection, etc.). Limit results to multimedia to find videos.
- Lippincott DiscoveryUse this site to search inside the full text of all materials published by Lippincott Williams and Wilkins (LWW Health Library Pharmacy, Physical Therapy, Occupational Therapy, Basic Sciences, and Medical Education, Bates Visual Guide, and Ackland Anatomy). Limit search results to multimedia to find images and videos.
- Orthopaedic Surgical Anatomy Teaching Collection (USC Digital Library) This link opens in a new windowA digital collection of images from the collection of Dr. Irving Regman, who took images of freshly dissected cadavers on interest to orthopedic surgeons. These images are useful for orthopedic residents reviewing anatomy.
- Primal Pictures This link opens in a new windowMost 3D images allow user to download in 2D or link to original.
- R2 Digital Library This link opens in a new windowSearches large collection of ebooks. Conduct a search and filter to images.
Tips for finding more images
In addition to the image resources listed in this guide, many ebooks contain images. Search the library catalog and limit your search results to Availability > Available Online AND Material Type > Books.
Publicly Available Images
This is a selection of recommended free sites. An internet search may retrieve more free online image collections.
- American Society of Hematology (ASH) Image Bank Comprehensive public collection of high quality, peer-reviewed hematologic images presented in digital and case-based format, useful for reference or instruction. Includes atlas and reference cases.
- CDC Parasites A-Z Index Images for parasite identification.
- HEAL, the Health Education Assets LibraryThis resource is a freely accessible, national library of high-quality digital multimedia to support all levels of health sciences education.
- Human Anatomy Online Presented by SUNY Downstate. Includes Head & Neck Anatomy.
- Images from the History of MedicineAccess 70,000+ digitized images from the U.S. National Library of Medicines (NLM) Prints and Photographs collection.
- MedlinePlus This link opens in a new windowConduct a search, and then narrow your results to images.
- National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases Image Library This link opens in a new window Free anatomical, medical, instructional, and lifestyle images related to diabetes, digestive, and kidney diseases.
- National Institutes of Health (NIH) Image GalleryImages from and of the faculty, staff, and activities of the 27 institutes and centers that comprise the NIH. Includes general biomedical and science-related images, clinicians, computers, patient care, and microscopy.
- Open-i - Open Access Biomedical Image Search Engine This link opens in a new window Open-i searches for images in all Open Access articles indexed in PubMed Central. Search over 600,000 copyright compliant images by keyword, topic, or image to find relevant or visually similar images.
- Public Health Image Library (PHIL) by CDC Indexes photographs, illustrations and multimedia files held by the CDC. Most of the images in the collection are in the public domain. Check beneath each image for a fair use statement that will tell you if there are any restrictions on image usage. Great for finding photos to illustrate presentations.
- Wellcome CollectionsImages from British Wellcome Museum holdings including historical, contemporary, biomedical, and clinical collections.
- Whole Brain Atlas Collection of MRI, MRA, PET images of normal and diseased brains from Harvard.