Honoring the pioneers
"I believe the most important thing a person can do is to help others have a better life." -Charlie Goldstein
- Charles Goldstein, DDSCharles Meyer Goldstein was a champion of efforts to bring dental care to poor and underserved communities throughout Southern California.
“I know we’re supposed to think big and mainstream. On the occasions I’ve tried to do that, I’ve realized I’m just about one-on-one, one person, one life, one relationship at a time to make it a better world” -Mollie Lowery
- Mollie Lowery, to the end, was a saint to those living on the streetsMollie Lowery was a pioneer for homeless services, particularly for mentally ill people in Los Angeles. She co-founded the housing support center LAMP Community as well as Housing Works.
Introduction
This guide provides information resources on the topic of homelessness. Included below are links to national and local organizations, reports, services, and literature on housing, mental health, recent statistics and more. Some resources may require USC login.
Where do I start?
To obtain general background information, view the resources listed in the Background Information and boxes labeled Reports. National and Local Strategic plans also provide orientation information to the overall environment.
After that, take a look at the other boxes on this page that provide further information on specific issues related to health care for the homeless, mental health conditions, and services provided by local organizations.
LOST ANGELS: Skid Row is My Home
JOIN US!!!
Wednesday, September 21, 2016,
4:30 - 8:30pm
LOST ANGELS: Skid Row is My Home takes an uncompromising yet life-affirming look at the lives of eight remarkable individuals, people who have found a way to make a life for themselves within the community of homelessness. The film shows how their descent into society’s basement has been exacerbated by the forces of gentrification and the increasing criminalization of homeless people, while exposing the draconian changes to the mental health care system that have brought us here.
food drive / pre-film tabling event / post-film discussion
One event - two locations! FREE EVENT! Please RSVP below.
Main location: Aresty Auditorium / HSC
Health Sciences Campus, Harlyne J. Norris Research Tower, map
Click here to RSVP for Aresty / HSC.
----------------------------
Live stream to: Century Club Lecture Hall / UPC
University Park Campus, USC Dental School, map
Click here to RSVP for Century Club / UPC.
--------------------
RSVPs are required however do not guarantee a seat.
All Filmology events are OVERBOOKED to maximize seating capacity in the theater.
The RSVP list will be checked on a first-come, first-served basis until the theater is full. Once the theater has reached capacity we will no longer be able to admit guests, regardless of RSVP status.
Evening Agenda
4:30-6pm Aresty / HSC: In-N-Out Truck / Tabling event
4:30-6pm Century Club / UPC: pizza, cookies, bottled water
6:00-6:05pm Welcome / Bios
6:05-6:15pm Film Introduction by Earl C. Paysinger, USC Vice President of Civic Engagement
6:15-7:30pm Film Screening (75 min)
7:30-7:45pm Special Guest / Short Q&A
7:45-8:30pm Moderated Discussion
#NMLFilmology, #LostAngelsFilm, #SkidRow
Featuring Photography by Arthur Cortez
Background Information
- The Welcome Home Project - GlossaryA list of definitions for common terminology.
- National Coalition for the Homeless - McKinney Vento Act Fact SheetThe McKinney-Vento Act provides for a variety of HUD housing options to help
stabilize the lives of homeless persons. These include emergency, transitional and permanent
supportive housing. - Homeless Emergency Assistance and Rapid Transition to Housing (HEARTH) Act of 2009The HEARTH Act amends and reauthorizes the McKinney-Vento Homeless Assistance Act with substantial changes, including creation of the Continuums of Care Program.
Mollie Lowry presents an in depth summary of national and local homeless services.
National Reports
- The State of Homelessness in America 20152015 report by the The National Alliance to End Homelessness. An examination of trends in homelessness, homelessness assistance, and at-risk populations at the national and state levels.
- How Many Individuals with a Serious Mental Illness Are Homeless?Treatment Advocacy Center Report - updated as of June 2016.
National Strategies to End Homelessness
- Opening DoorsOpening Doors is the nation’s first comprehensive federal strategy to prevent and end homelessness.
- USICH Opening Doors Solutions DatabaseThe U.S. Interagency Council on Homelessness Solutions Database is a living resource hub for programs and practices.
Integrated Housing and Care
- LA Homeless Services Authority (LAHSA)LAHSA is the lead agency in the Los Angeles Continuum of Care, which is the regional planning body that coordinates housing and services for homeless families and individuals in Los Angeles County.
- Integrated Care and Housing for Homeless Persons in Los Angeles 2012USC Social Work Homelessness Forum Report
- 10th Decile ProjectThe 10th Decile Project is a collaborative effort in Los Angeles County to connect frequent users of emergency health services to housing and appropriate care.
Housing First Model
Housing First by Publication Date: 2015
- Developing a Housing First Approach Sytstem-Wide: Alameda County, CAPPT slides to 2010 webinar - overview of work for ending homelessness in the county, strategies developed to reduce homelessness, and use of Homelessness Prevention and Rapid Re-Housing Program (HPRP) and Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) resources to create a comprehensive Housing First system.
- The Applicability of Housing First Models to Homeless Persons with Serious Mental IllnessThis 2007 U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development Office of Policy Development and Research report provides a description of several programs that represent a Housing First model.
Coordinated Entry System
- Continuum of Care Program--Increasing Mobility Options for Homeless Individuals and Families With Tenant-Based Rental Assistance. Interim rule. Office of the Assistant Secretary for Community Planning and Development, HUD. Fed Regist. 2016 Jun 14;81(114The HUD Continuum of Care (CoC) program is designed to address the critical problem of homelessness through a coordinated community-based process of identifying needs and building a system of housing and services to address those needs.
- United Way of Greater Los Angeles - Coordinated Entry SystemA Coordinated Entry System (CES) is a no-wrong door, countywide system that engages and connects single adults experiencing homelessness to the optimal resource for their needs.
Resources for People Living in Their Vehicles
- Financial Support & Resources for People Living in Their VehiclesThis guide provides information on maintaining independence, getting and keeping car insurance and registration and building a plan for moving from a vehicle back into a home.
Funding / Grants
Artistic Endeavors
- Lamp Community Arts ProgramThe Lamp Arts Program is an arts studio and creativity center for the Skid Row neighborhood. The Arts Program offers people who are homeless, living in extreme poverty or with mental illness a safe and nurturing place for creative self-expression.
LOST ANGELS: Skid Row is My Home Trailer
Special Guests
USC Vice President of Civic Engagement
Earl C. Paysinger was appointed vice president of civic engagement on July 1, 2016, providing strategic leadership, development, and oversight for USC’s community outreach programs. As a long-serving member of the Los Angeles Police Department, Paysinger joined USC with strong familiarity with the university and the vital role it plays in Los Angeles and in the surrounding communities. Earl Paysinger brings neighborhood knowledge to USC Civic Engagement post
A former electrician and self-described "punky New Yorker," Bam Bam was a resident of Skid Row for two years. His mental health disorders include bipolarity, schizophrenia, PTHD, and a gender identity disorder. With the help of LA’s health services agencies, he was able to get his Section 8 housing and now he is off the streets, sober and med compliant. He has re-forged a relationship with his daughter and is living with HIV.
Tabling Participants
- CSH Speak Up! (Corporation for Supportive Housing)CSH's program is designed to support formerly homeless residents of permanent supportive housing to effectively advocate for themselves and their communities.
- JWCH InstituteJWCH provides homeless health care services ranging from medical examination to laboratory services for the communities of Los Angeles County.
- Lamp CommunityLamp Community provides permanent supportive housing and services for LA's most vulnerable individuals, primarily adults with mental illness, via the Housing First approach, which they helped to pioneer.
- LA on Cloud9LAC9 provides our homeless community and their animals with basic essentials and resources, such as hygiene items, food, clothing, blankets, shoes and more.
- Homeless Outreach Partnership for Education and Empowerment (HOPE2)USC Keck School of Medicine student interest group that collaborates with other student groups to expand Keck’s engagement with the homeless population and the issues that they face.
- Housing WorksHousing Works networks with property owners and developers to provide apartments with government rental subsidies to families and individuals who have been chronically homeless and struggle with serious mental illness.
- Monday Night MissionMonday Night Mission meets M-F to feed those on Skid Row who are turned away from homeless shelters.
- Roee Astor - Los Angeles Schweitzer FellowDuring his 3rd year of medical school Roee will conduct research at LAC+USC's Urgent Care Whole Person Clinic. Students who want to get involved with homelessness research can reach him at roeeasto@usc.edu.
- Share a Meal - USC ChapterShare A Meal is a community of organizations & individuals who serve freshly made meals & more to people in need, five days a week.
- Volunteers of America - Los Angeles (VOALA)A non-profit human services organization that has been serving people in need since 1896. Services include emergency and transitional shelter, job placement services, corrections programs, and addiction counselling, many services are geared specifically towards veterans.
- MCA (Maternal Child Adolescent/Adult) Program - USC Keck School of MedicineThe MCA clinic specializes in care for HIV infected individuals and their families, including pediatric patients, adolescents, young adults and older adults.
- Brian Redline - National CoordinatorGrand Challenge to End Homelessness
USC School of Social Work
County of Los Angeles - Reports
- 2016 Homeless Count Results Los Angeles County and LA Continuum of CarePPT presentation summarizing the 2016 Los Angeles Homeless Count.
- LA County NewsroomRead more about LA County Board of Supervisors landmark plan that represents the most comprehensive effort ever undertaken by the County to combat homelessness.
- Driving Transformative Change in Los Angeles County Initial Steps and Future PlansPrepared for County Board of Supervisors - April 2016
Los Angeles - Strategies to End Homelessness
- The New Skid Row SquadCity-County-Community (C3) program partnership.
- MHSA Innovation PlanThe final mental health plan for specified populations to be implemented in LA County.
- Innovation Learning Session IThis report includes culturally relevant findings to working with an integrated team.
Mobile Health Clinics
News Articles
- Your Homeless Neighbors Have Probably Lived In LA Longer Than You2018 LA Times article that discusses demographics of Los Angeles homeless population.
- Something to Smile AboutUSC Teams With Union Rescue Mission on Innovative Skid Row Dental Program.
- USC News Articles on HomlessnessRead articles about USC involvement in the effort to resolve homelessness in Los Angeles.
Panel Members
Click the blue links to learn more about our panelists.
Santosh Sundaresan, BDS, DDS
Chair, Section of Community Dentistry Programs
Director, USC Mobile Dental Clinic
Herman Ostrow School of Dentistry of USC
Dr Sundaresan graduated from the International Dentistry Program at the USC School of Dentistry in 2005. He was then appointed full-time USCSD faculty to precept dental students treating children of rural farm-working families on the USC Mobile Clinic, and also providing care to the homeless in LA’s Skid Row at the USC-Union Rescue Mission Dental Clinic. In 2010, he was instrumental in opening and operating the USC Dental Clinic at the JWCH Center for Community Health, located in Skid Row. See full bio. Ostrow unveils world’s largest mobile dental clinic. Ostrow School of Dentistry Serves Veterans at LA Event
Third-Year Medical Student
USC Keck School of Medicine
Roee has worked on homelessness research since 2010 and is continuing his involvement through the Los Angeles Schweitzer Fellowship. During his 3rd year of medical school at LAC+USC Medical Center, he will use County’s Urgent Care Whole Person Clinic as a home base to improve homelessness follow up for patients one-on-one in a case management format. Roee also aims to increase USC Medical student involvement and work with leaders at the hospital and other local organizations to improve coordination of homelessness follow up efforts. Students who would like to get involved with homelessness research can reach him at roeeasto@usc.edu.
Rice, Eric, et al. "Homelessness experiences, sexual orientation, and sexual risk taking among high school students in Los Angeles." Journal of Adolescent Health 52.6 (2013): 773-778.
Olivia Grant
Co-President HOPE2
MD Candidate 2019
USC Keck School of Medicine
Olivia Grant graduated from Rutgers University with a BA in Biological Sciences and a minor in Public Health in 2014. She is currently a second year student at Keck SOM and a co-president of the HOPE2 student interest group . As someone who has experienced homelessness, she is very passionate about working with and advocating for this population. In addition to changing misconceptions often associated with the homeless, she hopes to encourage other Keck students to become actively engaged in tackling issues affecting this community. Upon graduating, she intends to practice here at LAC + USC where she can continue to work to provide care to the underserved.
Celina Alvarez
Executive Director
Since 2000, Celina has played a key role in developing and implementing effective methodological practices in the arena of permanent supportive housing and “Housing First” in both single site and scattered site settings.
In 2008, Celina joined the Housing Works Mobile Integrated Services Team (MIST). Through the MIST, Housing Works provides street and shelter outreach to individuals and families living on the streets and in shelters, supporting them in accessing permanent supportive housing, and providing comprehensive, supportive services to help them thrive and succeed in housing while also learning how to re-integrate back into the community. See full bio
Community Advocate
Corporation for Supportive Housing
Formerly homeless, Vikki now advocates for mental health care, supportive housing and funding. She shares her story with Congressional Representatives, philanthropic groups, police departments, healthcare professionals, and any interested groups to help bring change to this crisis.
KPCC interview: Some homeless people can't be helped, 'but do these people deserve to die on a sidewalk?'
Health Care for the Homeless
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) Resources
- Behavioral Health Services for People Who Are Homeless, Ch. 12013 Treatment Improvement Protocol (TIP)
- SAMHSA Online CoursesOnline, self-paced CE courses on topics related to behavioral health and homelessness, and building systems of care. Free CEUs.
Organizations
- U.S. Department of Health and Human ServicesThis link directs you to research findings. Explore website for information on grants, laws & regulations and other resources.
- U.S. Interagency Council on Homelessness (USICH)USICH coordinates and catalyzes the federal response to homelessness, working in close partnership with Cabinet Secretaries and other senior leaders.
- Substance Abuse and Mental Health AdministrationAgency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that leads public health efforts to advance the behavioral health of the nation.
- National Alliance to End Homelessness - Homeless Research InstituteThe Homelessness Research Institute is the research and education arm tasked with building and disseminating the intellectual capital around homelessness.
- National Health Care for the Homeless CouncilA network of more than 10,000 doctors, nurses, social workers, patients, and advocates who share the mission to eliminate homelessness.
- National Coalition for the HomelessA national network of people who are currently experiencing or who have experienced homelessness, activists and advocates, community-based and faith-based service providers, and others.
- Conrad N. Hilton FoundationA family foundation established in 1944 by the man who started Hilton Hotels. We provide funds to nonprofit organizations working to improve the lives of disadvantaged and vulnerable people throughout the world.