Code Black
JOIN US!!!
Thursday, April 16, 2015 : 5:30 - 8:30pm
USC Health Science Campus
Aresty Auditorium @ Harlyne J. Norris Research Tower (NRT)
Free pizza, cookies, & bottled water
Discussion to follow.
Free admission - Click here to RSVP
Runtime: 78 min
This award winning documentary provides a doctor's-eye view into America's busiest Emergency Department - "C-Booth," Los Angeles County Hospital's legendary trauma bay. Physician Ryan McGarry follows a dedicated team of charismatic, young doctors-in-training as they wrestle openly with both their ideals and with the realities of saving lives in a complex and overburdened system. Learn more about the film at CODE BLACK.
Screening of the film to be followed by a discussion moderated by Dr. Edward Newton, Chair Emergency Medicine, Keck School of Medicine and Dr. Jamie Eng.
Trailer for Code Black
Learn more about the film
- Code BlackOfficial film website. Learn more about the film, the participants, screenings and events.
- Saving Lives And Surviving Paperwork Inside The LA County ERListen to NPRs All Things Considered interview with Dr. Ryan McGarry.
- ER Drama ‘Code Black’ From Michael Seitzman Gets CBS Put Pilot CommitmentCode Black documentary to be developed into television series.
- Code Black FacebookSee what people are saying and read about other projects and events related to the film.
Books
Some of the following resources may require USC login.
Clinical Practice of Emergency Medicine by Call Number: Norris Medical Library, Upper Level, WB 105 H343 2015ISBN: 9781451188813
5-Minute Emergency Medicine Consult by Call Number: Norris Medical Library, Reserve, WB 39 R813 2015ISBN: 9781451190670
Rosen's Emergency Medicine - Concepts and Clinical Practice, 2-Volume Set, 9th ed by ISBN: 9781455706051Publication Date: 2017
Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine: Just The Facts by Call Number: Norris Medical Library, Upper Level, WB 18.2 TT593 2013ISBN: 9780071744416
Emergency Medicine Manual by Call Number: Norris Medical Library, Reserve, WB 105 T593 2012ISBN: 9780071781848
Journals
- Annals of emergency medicine (Online)The official journal of the American College of Emergency Physicians. This journal publishes international, peer-reviewed literature that includes original research, clinical reports, opinion, and educational information related to the practice, teaching, and research of emergency medicine.
Below you will find links to some of the more well known Emergency Medicine journals. This list is not exhaustive.
Some of the following resources may require USC login.
- Resuscitation (Online)Resuscitation is a monthly, international and interdisciplinary medical journal. Papers published deal with the aetiology, pathophysiology and prevention of cardiac arrest, resuscitation training, clinical resuscitation, and experimental resuscitation research.
- Journal of Trauma and Acute Care SurgeryContinues Journal of Trauma. Published 12 times per year. Content focuses specifically on all aspects of traumatic injuries.
- Academic Emergency Medicine: AEMThe official journal of the Society for Academic Emergency Medicine. Includes international, peer reviewed literature that focuses on advancing the science, education, and clinical practice of emergency medicine.
- Injury (Online)An international journal dealing with all aspects of trauma care and accident surgery. Topics covered include: trauma systems and management; surgical procedures; epidemiological studies; surgery (of all tissues); resuscitation; biomechanics; rehabilitation; anaesthesia; radiology; basic science of local and systemic response to trauma and tissue healing.
- Emergency medicine news (Online)A news magazine for emergency physicians. Content includes coverage of advances, trends, and issues within the field, via comprehensive special reports, profiles, editorials, and clinical commentary.
- Advanced Emergency Nursing JournalA peer-reviewed journal with a focus on evidence-based material for daily practice in emergency care for nurses and experienced clinicians.
USC - Department of Emergency Medicine
- USC Department of Emergency Medicine (DEM)Learn more about the history of the DEM, educational programs, research, and more.
The Department of Emergency Medicine (DEM) is an autonomous clinical and academic department within the LAC+USC Medical Center and Keck School of Medicine of the University of Southern California. It has the responsibility for initial triage, evaluation, management, and disposition of up to 500 patients daily, including a complete spectrum of adult and pediatric medical and surgical conditions.
Established in 1971, it is one of the longest running residency programs in the history of Emergency Medicine. View the resources below to learn more about the DEM.
- LAC+USC Emergency Department - Presentation of Dr. Edward NewtonDr. Edward Newton, Chair Emergency Medicine - presentation slides that discuss challenges being faced by emergency departments, as well as some solutions to the issue of overcrowding.
Moderators
As department chair, Newton has led 48 full-time USC faculty, 60 voluntary or part-time faculty, and 68 residents, and provided administrative direction to a wide range of Los Angeles County employees working in the Emergency Department at the LAC+USC Medical Center.
His term as chair saw the integration of the emergency medicine private practice into the University of Southern California and the transition from the old county facility to the new state-of-the-art Level 1 trauma center. (HSC Weekly) Click here to learn more about Dr. Newton.
Bio & photo from: https://altruisticpics.blogspot.com/2011/03/meet-dr-bruce-s-jansson.html
Dr. Jamie Eng
After completing medical school, Dr. Eng completed her residency training in emergency medicine at LAC+USC Medical Center. During residency, she was the co-leader in several inter-departmental initiatives to improve wait times and ED throughput for specific patients presenting in the ER, such as orthopedics, ophthalmology and gynecology.
Bio & photo from: https://www.ema.us/fellowship/case_study.aspx
History of Emergency Medicine
- Rosen, P (07/1979). "The biology of emergency medicine". Journal of the American College of Emergency Physicians (0361-1124), 8 (7), p. 280.Written in 1979, by Peter Rosen, MD, this landmark article laid the foundation for the development of emergency medicine as a distinct specialty.
Some of the following resources may require USC login.
- A Brief History of Emergency Medicine Residency TrainingZink succinctly summarizes the tandem evolution of Emergency Medicine residency training and the push for specialty status in Emergency Medicine through the late 1960's and 1970's. Article identifies key players, organizations, and institutions.
Global Perspective
- Global Emergency Medicine Literature Review (GEMLR) Group, Torben K. (07/2014). "Global emergency medicine: a review of the literature from 2013". Academic emergency medicine (1069-6563), 21 (7), p. 810.The Global Emergency Medicine Literature Review (GEMLR) conducts an annual search of peer-reviewed and grey literature relevant to global emergency medicine (EM) to identify, review, and disseminate the most important new research in this field.
Some of the following resources may require USC login.
- Cameron, P A View Author Profile (02/2014). "International emergency medicine: past and future". Emergency medicine Australasia (1742-6731), 26 (1), p. 50.This article provides an overview of some of the key drivers that have influenced the development of the EM specialization. It also discusses the success and failures of EM on a global level, and considers the role of technological advancement upon future growth.
Legal History
- Curran, W J View Author Profile (11/1997). "Legal history of emergency medicine from medieval common law to the AIDS epidemic". The American journal of emergency medicine (0735-6757), 15 (7), p. 658.The early development of legal obligation in emergency medicine is traced through medieval English common law to the first stages of American law after Independence. An identifiable set of legal principles in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries is described. The AIDS epidemic is utilized as a case example of expanded legal and ethical duties to offer emergency care in a nondiscriminatory manner to all patients presenting at hospital emergency departments.
Some of the following resources may require USC login.
PubMed Articles
Some of the following resources may require USC login.
- Olthuis, G. (03/2014). "Matters of concern: a qualitative study of emergency care from the perspective of patients". Annals of emergency medicine (0196-0644), 63 (3), p. 311.This article investigates what patients actually experience during their ED visit to better understand the patterns of relationships among patients and health care professionals.
- Oredsson, S (07/19/2011). "A systematic review of triage-related interventions to improve patient flow in emergency departments". Scandinavian journal of trauma, resuscitation and emergency medicine (1757-7241), 19 (1), p. 43.This systematic review explores interventions that improve patient flow in emergency departments. Specific interventions addressed in this article include streaming, fast track, team triage, point-of-care testing (performing laboratory analysis in the emergency department), and nurse-requested x-ray.
- Special Issue: Proceedings of the 2011 AEM Consenus Conference: Interventions to Assure Quality in the Crowded Emergency Department; Dec. 2011 V18 I12This link provides citations to a series of manuscripts featured in a Special Issue of Academic Emergency Medicine, which reports on the consensus conference conducted in Boston, Massachusetts, in June 2011 - ‘‘Interventions to Assure Quality in the Crowded Emergency Department’’. To view full text articles, log in to PubMed@USC, search for the PMID #, click the FindIt@USClink.
- Venkatesh, A K (10/2013). "A "Top Five" list for emergency medicine: a policy and research agenda for stewardship to improve the value of emergency care". The American journal of emergency medicine (0735-6757), 31 (10), p. 1520.This article propose a framework for identifying overused services and a research and implementation agenda to guide stewardship efforts to demonstrate the value of emergency care. Interventions to reduce the cost of emergency care are discussed: laboratory tests, high-cost imaging, medication administration, intravenous fluids and medications, hospital admissions and post-discharge care.
- Webster, F (01/2015). "Failure to cope: the hidden curriculum of emergency department wait times and the implications for clinical training". Academic medicine (1040-2446), 90 (1), p. 56.This study explored optimal intraprofessional collaboration between physicians in the emergency department (ED) and those from general internal medicine (GIM).