Advertising Research Databases
Here are a few databases to begin your research:
- Emerald This link opens in a new windowArticles from key journals and books in the fields of management, information science and engineering. Most, but not all, journals and books provide full-text access.
- WARC This link opens in a new windowPreviously known as the World Advertising Research Center, WARC provides a wide range of information on advertising and marketing trends around the world including expenditure data, case studies, industry trends and consumer insight.
- ProQuest Business This link opens in a new windowProQuest Business provides full text access to articles, reports and other resources in nine databases including ABI/Inform, the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Business Dissertations, Historical Annual Reports and more. An excellent starting point for business research.
- Business Insights Global This link opens in a new windowBusiness Insights: Global is a source for international business intelligence offering the most comprehensive and convenient way to find case studies, in-depth statistical data coupled with deep research, and the ability to compare global economies, countries and industries. Also known as Gale Business Insights.
- EBSCO Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowThis database provides articles from business journals, magazines and newspapers including the Harvard Business Review, McKinsey Quarterly and many others.
Business perspective Databases
- Business Abstracts with Full Text (H.W. Wilson)Business Abstracts with Full Text™ offers a multitude of business magazines and scholarly journals: this comprehensive database contains the full text of articles from more than 510 key publications.
- EBSCO Business Source CompleteThis database provides articles from business journals, magazines and newspapers including the Harvard Business Review, McKinsey Quarterly and many others.
- LGBT Life with Full TextLGBT Life is the premier resource to the world's literature regarding Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender and Transsexual issues. Comprehensive coverage includes traditional academic, lifestyle, and regional publications and more...
- Web of ScienceWeb of Science (a.k.a. Web of Knowledge): Provides citations covering over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings.
- RDS Business SuiteA database of articles, statistics and tables drawn from a wide range of trade publications and business news sources. Search results are reported from Business & Industry, Business & Management Practices and TableBase.
search tips
Once you have identified your topic, check to see if it is too specific, if it is, work toward a general focus. This will help you generate a list of keywords, or concepts related to your topic.
Keywords
marketing, youth, luxury brands, automobiles, hybrid cars,soft drinks, etc....
Use AND, OR, NOT to connect your phrases/keywords
to locate both hybrid AND cars
to locate either word U.S. OR United States
to locate (the first word) soda NOT carbonated drinks
* truncation symbol
tech* tech, technology,technological, technologies
Types of resources
peer-reviewed
scholarly articles
magazines
trade publications
case studies
books
government reports
book chapters
reports