These electronic drug information resources are available to you as a USC preceptor, to use while educating USC Pharm D students. These represent some of the most commonly used drug information resources. Explore the guides or search the catalog for more materials owned by the libraries.
- Pharmacy GuideBooks, journals, apps, and more to support pharmacists' information needs.
- Pharmaceutical Research GuideGuide of useful databases, journals, books, and other sources for support study and research in pharmacology and pharmaceutical sciences.
- Pharmacy Year 4 guideGuide for 4th year PharmDs with required and recommended materials
| Type of Question | Best Bet Resource | Alternate Resource(s) |
|---|---|---|
| Adverse Drug Reactions | Meyler's Side Effects of Drugs | |
| Compounding | The Art, Science, and Technology of Pharmaceutical Compounding
|
|
| Drug-Drug Interactions | Stockley's Drug Interaction Pocket Companion 2016 |
|
| Drug-Food Interactions | Use interactive tools in Facts & Comparisons E-Answers or Micromedex | |
| Equivalent Products | The Orange Book. Need help using the Orange Book? Watch a video from the FDA. | |
| Foreign Drugs (Non-US) | Martindale: The Complete Drug Reference. Accessed via Micromedex. Search for a drug name, then select the Martindale entry from results. |
|
| Geriatrics | UpToDate Lexidrug includes Geriatric Lexi-Drugs. Search for a drug name, then select the geriatric monograph. | |
| Identification | Identidex (through Micromedex) |
|
| Infectious Disease | Sanford Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy | |
| IV Compatibility | ASHP Injectable Drug Information (former title: Trissel's) |
|
| Laboratory tests | Wallach's Interpretation of Diagnostic Tests. | |
| Natural products | Natural Medicines |
|
| Off-label use | Facts and Comparisons Off-Label available in UpToDate Lexidrug. Search for the drug and select the result from Facts and Comparisons Off-Label. |
|
| OTC Medications | Handbook of Non-Prescription Drugs |
|
| Package inserts | DailyMed |
|
| Pediatrics | UpToDate Lexidrug includes Pediatric Lexi-Drugs. Search for a drug name, then select the pediatric monograph. |
|
| Pregnancy & Lactation | Drugs in Pregnancy and Lactation (formerly known as Brigg's) | |
| Pricing | Red Book (Print edition discontinued; only access available via Micromedex) |
The Red Book includes the most comprehensive pricing data.
|
| Stability & Compatibility | ASHP Injectable Drug Information (former title: Trissel's) | |
| Toxicology | Lexi-Tox, part ofUpToDate Lexidrugs subscription. Select More Clinical Tools, then Toxicology. |
|
| Veterinary Information | Merck Veterinary Manual |
|
- Micromedex This link opens in a new windowBrief and detailed monographs for prescription and over the counter drugs; The Red Book for drug pricing; interactive tools for interactions and compatibility; additional references on drug names, toxicology, patient education,and diseases.
- UpToDate Lexidrug (formerly Lexicomp) This link opens in a new windowMonographs, ebooks and interactive tools covering over the counter and prescription drugs.
- Facts and Comparisons E-Answers This link opens in a new windowConstantly updated drug monographs for prescription and over-the-counter drugs; drug interaction checker. Includes additional handbooks on specific aspects of drugs, such as Review of Natural Products.
- Mobile Resources (for Health Sciences) GuideIncludes apps and mobile websites for USC students, faculty, and staff. Various apps freely available or through USC Library subscriptions.
- PubMed@USC This link opens in a new windowPubMed provides access to millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. This version is customized for USC users to find the full-text of articles.
- International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowWorldwide coverage of pharmaceutical science and practice literature. Includes coverage of drug development, pharmacoeconomics, toxicity, regulation, and technology.
- Embase This link opens in a new windowEmbase provides access to over more than 29 million citations for biomedical articles and conference proceedings. This version has been customized for USC users to find the full-text of articles from library holdings.
- Google Patents This link opens in a new windowSearch US Patent Office applications, European Union patent applications, and Japanese patent applications using Google's search structures. Search US Patent office data using Google search techniques. Includes searchable full-text of US patents from 1790.
- Drugs@FDA This link opens in a new windowSearch for prescription and over the counter drugs approved for sale in the United States; find approved labels, original application documents as submitted by the drug company, and replies from the Food and Drug Administration.
- DailyMed: Drug Package Inserts This link opens in a new windowOnline access to current and past United States Food and Drug Administration-approved labels for prescription and over-the-counter drugs.
- European Medicines Agency This link opens in a new windowThis organization approves and regulates human and veterinary medicines in the European Union (EU). Find detailed information on approved drugs, news about the EMA, and information on how drugs are tested and regulated in the EU.
- Therapeutic Goods Administration- Australian Public Assessment Reports for Prescription Medicines This link opens in a new windowPackage labels and scientific reviews of drug products approved for use in Australia. The TGA is the Australian government's analogue to the US Food and Drug Administration.
- Health Canada - Drugs and Health Products This link opens in a new windowHealth Canada regulates drugs and health products in Canada. Find reports and publications, recalls, legislation and guidelines, and additional information.
- Mobile Resources (for Health Sciences) GuideIncludes apps and mobile websites for USC students, faculty, and staff. Various apps freely available or through USC Library subscriptions.
- UpToDate Lexidrugs Apps (formerly Lexicomp)
1. Use a computer to access UpToDate Lexidrug (formerly Lexicomp).
2. Look for the box named Help and Training Resources. Inside this box, find a link titled Academic Discount. Click this link.
3. Select the app you wish to purchase, add to your cart, and proceed to checkout.
4. Follow instructions in email to obtain and download app.
- Natural Medicines app
As of fall 2023 this app is no longer available to institutional subscribers. Individual subscribers may be able to access it. The Natural Medicines website has been upgraded and is now more accessible via mobile browser. - Micromedex AppsUSC's subscriptions include access to five apps:
- IV Compatibility
- Drug Reference
- Drug Interactions
- NeoFax
- Pediatrics
1. To activate apps, go to Micromedex.
2. You will have two options: Micromedex or CareNotes System. Click "Micromedex."
3. Under "Resources", click on the gray box labeled "Download Mobile Apps" or click "Mobile Application Access" in the top banner.
4. Scroll down to find instructions for the Micromedex Native Mobile Apps that include a password for each of the five apps available to USC affiliates.
4. Download the Micromedex apps from your mobile device's app/play store.
5. Enter password into app when prompted.
- IV Compatibility
- UpToDate App
Includes UpToDate outlines, UpToDate Lexidrug's oral interactions checker, links to commonly used guidelines, and calculators. 
1. Go to UpToDate.
2. Click "Register” link in top right corner.
3. Complete all fields with your information and create an UpToDate username & password.
4. Download the UpToDate app from your mobile device's app/play/Windows store.
5. Login to the app with your UpToDate username & password.
You will be asked to log in every 90 days to verify your affiliation with USC. Go to the Norris Medical Library website, access UpToDate and then login with your UpToDate user name and password.
