Research Guides: Communication Management: Industry Research

Industry Information

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is one of the first statistic portals in the world to integrate data on over 80.000 topics from over 18.000 sources onto a single professional platform and providing companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.
Gale OneFile: Hospitality and Tourism This link opens in a new window
Discover well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism industries.
SAGE Business Cases This link opens in a new window
SAGE Business Cases is the first discipline-wide digital collection tailored to library needs. These cases bring business to life – inspiring researchers to develop their own best practices and prepare for professional success.
EStatement Studies This link opens in a new window
eStatement Studies is the online version of the Annual Statement Studies produced by the Risk Management Association (RMA).
It provides composite performance metrics derived directly from the financial statements of financial institutions' borrowers and prospects. It includes Financial Ratios Benchmarks on over 760 industries, Industry Default Probabilities and Cash Flow Measures.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Industry Market Research reports and Industry Risk Ratings. Focuses on United States, but has some data on global markets.
Leisure, Travel and Mass Culture: The History of Tourism This link opens in a new window
This collection documents the growth of tourism from the mid-1800s through to the 1980s. This resource is provided by Adam Matthew.
Covers destinations in Britain, the United States and Europe with speical attention to seaside resorts, cultural tours and National Parks. Also documents the growth of travel agencies along with the importance of transport networks for tourism development. Primary sources include: brochures, guidebooks, photo albums, tourist ephemera, printed books, travel agency records, handwritten journals, government correspondence promoting tourism after the Second World War and periodicals such as Cook’s Excursionist (1851-1902). In addition there are numerous audiovisual materials including promotional films from Thomas Cook, the Camping and Caravanning Club and Lunn Poly.
SBRnet (Sports Business Research Network) This link opens in a new window
Sports Business Research Network provides market research and industry news for the sports industry.
SBRnet's site combines market research from the largest single research supplier to the industry, the National Sporting Goods Association; the U.S. Department of Commerce; various sports governing bodies; and full-text articles from 14 magazines and newsletters published by VNU, the world's largest sporting goods trade publisher, and newsletters provided by leading independent industry experts.
Music Industry Data (ID) This link opens in a new window
Global music industry information in three platforms: Music ID Data, Music ID Revenue, and Music ID Impact.
Advertising Red Books (Winmo) This link opens in a new window
Detailed information on advertising agencies and advertisers.
Agency Database contains detailed profiles of close to 15,000 U.S. and international agencies, including clients, fields of specialization, and more. Advertiser Database contains exclusive information on nearly 21,000 U.S. and international advertisers who each spend more than $200,000 annually on advertising. Use Quick Search or Advanced Search to access one or both databases.
2 users access

SWOT Analysis

Strength, Weakness, Opportunities and Threats (SWOT)

SWOT Analysis Signpost, Image courtesy of scottchan / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

The analysis of a firm’s strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, and threats. A SWOT analysis helps evaluate how a company will perform in a competitive environment.

SWOT analysis. (2003). In Webster's new world finance and investment dictionary. Retrieved from https://libproxy.usc.edu/login?url=https://search.credoreference.com.libproxy.usc.edu/content/entry/wileynwfid/swot_analysis/0

Business Insights: Global
Research and analyze companies and industries around the world with extensive reference content from Gale's core business collection, easy-to-use company fundamentals and investment research reports, SWOT reports, industry rankings, profiles, market share data, company histories, and more.
Passport
The Passport/GMID (Global Market Information Database) by Euromonitor provides a wide range of consumer market and industry information in more than 80 countries around the world. It includes company profiles, some with SWOT analysis, country briefings, sector briefings, sector data, industry watch articles and detailed Consumer Lifestyle reports.