Communication Research Databases
Once you have an area of communication in mind to research, here are a few databases to begin your research:
- Communication Source This link opens in a new windowIncludes articles from peer-reviewed journals and trade magazines covering mass media, marketing, communications, and related topics.
- ProQuest Research -Multiple DatabaseProQuest Multiple Databases is a multi-disciplinary index. It simultaneously searches dozens of subject areas, indexes thousands of general and scholarly titles. It is an excellent starting place for research for a paper, particularly if one isn't sure where to begin their research.
- GenderWatchGenderWatch is a full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. Subjects covered include: business, education, literature and the arts, health sciences, history, political science, public policy, sociology, gender and women's studies and more
- ProQuest TelecommunicationsProQuest Telecommunications is a essential resource for anyone researching the industry or its technology. The database includes over 140 titles, with more than 115 available in full text. Whether youre looking for the latest news on WAP technology, following market penetration of new technologies, or gathering information about the key players in this field, ProQuest Telecommunications helps you stay one step ahead.
- SBRnet (Sports Business Research Network) This link opens in a new windowSports Business Research Network provides market research and industry news for the sports industry.
- SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new windowComprehensive database for sports & sports medicine literature. Includes international literature, conference proceedings, audiovisuals and more. Coverage dates back to 1985.
- ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new windowBusiness information, including journals, newspapers, magazines, trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, and market reports. Covers 1971-present. Includes US and international information.
- PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles by the American Psychological Association
Sage Research Methods
Selecting a research method is important. Use Sage Research Methods to locate examples.
- SAGE Research Methods Online and CasesSAGE Research Methods includes books, articles, encyclopedias, and videos covering social science research design and methods including the complete Little Green Book series of Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences and the Little Blue Book series of qualitative research. Also includes case studies outlining the research methods used in real research projects
Databases
- Business Abstracts with Full Text (H.W. Wilson)Business Abstracts with Full Text™ offers a multitude of business magazines and scholarly journals: this comprehensive database contains the full text of articles from more than 510 key publications.
- EBSCO Business Source CompleteThis database provides articles from business journals, magazines and newspapers including the Harvard Business Review, McKinsey Quarterly and many others.
- Sociological AbstractsSociological Abstracts Database is a primary resource for accessing the latest research sponsored in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
- Business Insights Global This link opens in a new windowBusiness Insights: Global is a source for international business intelligence offering the most comprehensive and convenient way to find case studies, in-depth statistical data coupled with deep research, and the ability to compare global economies, countries and industries. Also known as Gale Business Insights.
- WARC This link opens in a new windowPreviously known as the World Advertising Research Center, WARC provides a wide range of information on advertising and marketing trends around the world including expenditure data, case studies, industry trends and consumer insight.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowFiltered Google Search finding scholarly journal articles, books, citations, and case law.
- LGBT Life with Full TextLGBT Life is the premier resource to the world's literature regarding Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender and Transsexual issues. Comprehensive coverage includes traditional academic, lifestyle, and regional publications and more...
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA growing full text collection of core social science, humanities, and science journals and books.
- EmeraldArticles from key journals in the fields of management, information science and engineering. Most, but not all, journals provide full-text access.
- ERIC (ProQuest)The ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education literature to augment American education by increasing and facilitating the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowAbstract and citation database of scholarly literature in psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes journal articles, books, reports, theses, and dissertations from 1806 to present.
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new windowFilm & Television Literature Index with Full Text is the definitive online tool for film and television research.
- Taylor & Francis Library This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary resource which cover communication, business, industry, travel and tourism, and some of the social sciences.
- Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowSocial Sciences Full Text provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences.
- Gale OneFile: Hospitality and Tourism This link opens in a new windowDiscover well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism industries.
search tips
Once you have identified your topic, check to see if it is too specific, if it is, work toward a general focus. This will help you generate a list of keywords, or concepts related to your topic.
Keywords
organization behavior, theory, group dynamics, externalization, explicit knowledge, theory, tacit knowledge, internal
Use AND, OR, NOT to connect your phrases/keywords
to locate both organizational behavior AND theory
to locate either word information OR knowledge
to locate (the first word) theory NOT study
* truncation symbol
organization* organization, organizations, organizational
Types of resources
scholarly articles
magazines
trade publications
case studies
government reports
book chapters
white papers
grey literature
Case Studies
Here are a few databases to locate Case Studies:
- EmeraldTo search for Case Studies, under Resources select Teaching Zone, then, Case studies Collection.
- WARCWARC provides a wide range of information on advertising and marketing trends around the world including expenditure data, case studies, industry trends and consumer insight.
- ProQuest Research LibrarySelect Advance Search and for Document type: select Case Study
China Research
Databases specifically focused on China
- China Academic Journals This link opens in a new windowThe key source for searching scholarly journal literature published in mainland China, with many full-text articles dating back as early as 1915.
- Database of Chinese New Local Gazetteers 中国新方志 This link opens in a new windowLocal gazetteers are regarded by scholars and historians in the China field as one of the most important primary sources for the study of history of Chinese economy, politics, culture, military, and science and technology. This database includes a large collection of post-1949 local gazetteers covering all regions of mainland China and various subject areas.
- Duxiu (Chinese Google Scholar) This link opens in a new windowKnown as Chinese Google Scholar, Duxiu provides access to a huge amount of full-text scholarly resources in all subjects and formats, such as books, theses & dissertations, journal & newspaper articles, conference papers, etc.