Research Guides: Communication Management: Citation Tools

Which citation manager is right for me?

Citation managers allow you to save your references, organize them into folders and create bibliographies using a citation format, like APA 7th edition. These tools will help you keep track of the numerous articles and other resources you're using for your research assignments and projects.

The table below will help you decide which one is right for you. Some of the more commonly used citation managers are:

RefWorks (USC has a subscription)
Mendeley
Zotero
Endnote (USC only has access to the web version of EndNote and it is available through the Web of Science database, under My Tools)

The information below has been adapted from Penn State University Libraries

Which citation manager is right for me?

I Need to:	Use:	Why?
…work from multiple computers or locations.	Zotero Mendeley RefWorks	Zotero saves your citation library to your local computer, but syncs with multiple computers so you can work from home, work, or school. Mendeley is a program that can be downloaded to your computer, and allows you to sync to a web account. RefWorks is entirely web-based and can be accessed from any computer with internet access.
…work without an Internet connection.	Zotero Mendeley	Zotero and Mendeley store your citation libraries on your computer.
…save web pages and import citations from mostly web-based publications	Zotero	Zotero allows you to easily save snapshots of web pages and annotate them within your citation library. It is a great tool for getting citation information from commercial and social networking sites.
…work on a group project or share my citations with others.	Zotero Mendeley RefWorks	Zotero allows you to share your citations through shared folders -- with individuals or groups. Mendeley allows you to share citations and documents with a group of up to 3 other users, or create a public reading list that is open to all. RefWorks allows you to share your citations through shared folders by inviting up to 10 individuals and giving permission to read, annotate, or modify the entries.
…save mostly print based citations for materials that may not be accessible online	RefWorks Mendeley	Mendeley and RefWorks allow you to enter references manually for print-based citations.
...create a bibliography or works cited page with different styles	Refworks Mendeley Zotero	They all allow you to generate bibliographies in various citation styles such as APA, MLA and Chicago Style.
...attach and search PDFs	RefWorks Mendeley Zotero	RefWorks allows you to attach, highlight and annotate PDFs
...be able to insert citations into my Word or Google document	RefWorks Mendeley Zotero	RefWorks, Zotero and Mendeley are compatible with Microsoft Word. Zotero and RefWorks are also compatible with Google Docs.
... access the citation manager for free or after I am no longer affiliated with USC	RefWorks Mendeley Zotero	RefWorks is free when you register with your USC email. You can keep access after graduation. Zotero is free but there is some cost for additional online storage. Mendeley is free but there is some cost for additional online storage.

RefWorks

RefWorks is a Web-based citation manager that allows you to import references from text files, web sites or online databases. You can use RefWorks to format a paper and a bibliography in seconds. (First time users should sign up for an individual account and select a username and password).

Checkout the RefWorks LibGuide for more information

Here is a brief guide to walk you through the process to set up your account and other features of RefWorks.

Mendeley

Mendeley is free online reference citation management tool that allows you to manage, organize, write, cite and collaborate with folks locally and internationally. As a web-based tool, you can sync desktop and web searching.

For more information check out the Mendeley LibGuide

Mendeley
Web-based citation management tool

Zotero

For more information checkout the Zotero research page

Key Features:

Firefox plugin so it works wherever Firefox does
Integrates with Firefox browser to provide 1-click importing
Desktop client available
Will store any file type
Archives web pages (i.e. stores them as they are when you save them)
Provides plugins for Word and Open Office to create bibliographies
Drag-and-drop citations into your paper
Create shared or group libraries
Publish your library or a certain folder as an RSS for others to see