APA Citation
If you need quick APA formatting information checkout the APA Citation LibGuide
For more detailed inquiries, remember to check the 6th edition of the Publication Manual. Also, if you have a questions about a new technology or peculiar citation, check the APA Style Blog. The Style Blog is run by a group of amazing people who are employed by the American Psychological Association.
Citation Management Tools
The following are the three most frequently used Citation Management Tools. It is a personal preference which one you choose.
RefWorks is a Web-based citation manager that allows you to import references from text files, web sites or online databases. You can use RefWorks to format a paper and a bibliography in seconds. Checkout the RefWorks Research Guide for more information
- ProQuest RefWorksThe new RefWorks is a premier reference management service that supports the needs of students, faculty and librarians. With a refined user experience, full-text management, collaboration and other features you’d expect from a reference management solution, RefWorks enables students and faculty to have a more efficient and reliable process for producing the best research papers and grants. Libraries are able to offer this powerful service and have full administrative controls and analytic's that provide a consistent source of patron and content usage.
Zotero. Zotero is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share research.
For more information checkout the Zotero research page
Key Features:
- Firefox plugin so it works wherever Firefox does
- Integrates with Firefox browser to provide 1-click importing
- Desktop client available
- Will store any file type
- Archives web pages (i.e. stores them as they are when you save them)
- Provides plugins for Word and Open Office to create bibliographies
- Drag-and-drop citations into your paper
- Create shared or group libraries
- Publish your library or a certain folder as an RSS for others to see
- ZoteroLog into Zotero to create your account.
Mendeley is free online reference citation management tool that allows you to manage, organize, write, cite and collaborate with folks locally and internationally. As a web-based tool, you can sync desktop and web searching.
For more information check out the Mendeley Research Guide.
- MendeleyManage References Cite and Generate Bibliographies Organize Your Papers
Word and Libre Office plugins
Chicago Manual Style
- Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new windowFully searchable version of the 15th (2003) and 16th (2010) editions of The Chicago Manual of Style, including a Quick Guide with sample citations. Print copies of the manual are available at the Doheny Reference Desk, Leavey Library's Lower Information Commons Desk, and Architecture and Fine Arts Library.
APA Style Blog
- APA Style BlogThe APA Style Blog is the official companion to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Sixth Edition. It's run by a group of experts who work with APA Style every day.
Subject Guide
room 224
cetucker@usc.edu