Research Guides: SWMS 410: Senior Seminar in Gender Studies: Resources

Search Strategies

The Advance Search will allow you to combine multiple words and concepts. Use AND, OR, NOT to connect your phrases/keywords

to locate both morality AND norms

to locate either word discourse OR commentary

NOT will retrieve the first word, debate NOT argument

Example

Legin

AND

gender

AND

"science fiction"

Try combining multiple keywords using AND to narrow your searches. Example: LeGuin AND Gender
Use OR to broaden your searches and find like terms. Example "Science Fiction" AND (Queer OR Gay OR Homosexual)
Quotation marks typically find words as a phrase in many of our databases
For scholarly journal articles, look for the subject terms and keywords the article is indexed with to find other similar sources
Once you find one source you like, review citations to find other authors in conversation with your topic.

Types of sources:

Peer Review Journals, Magazines, Books, Case Studies, Conference Proceedings, Newspapers

Databases

GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database on all issues related to gender. Publications include academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, NGO and special reports.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Core database in the field of literature, languages, and linguistics.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database with full text copies of scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
As of January 2012, Project Muse has added thousands of University Press ebooks to its collection. However, USC DOES NOT have access to them. If you are interested in one of these titles, please search Homer or Quick Search to see if we have a copy.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database focusing on core scholarly journal articles.
It covers dozens of subject areas and indexes thousands of general and scholarly titles and provides full-text for a significant number of the articles included. It is an excellent starting place for research for a paper, particularly if one isn't sure where to begin their research.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A growing full text collection of core social science, humanities, and science journals and books.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
This is an index to the core disciplines in women's studies and feminist research. Coverage includes more than 586,600 records and spans from 1972 to present. Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
LGBT Life is the premier resource to the world's literature regarding Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender and Transsexual issues.
Comprehensive coverage includes traditional academic, lifestyle, and regional publications, as well as non-periodical content such as non-fiction books, bibliographies and dissertations. Disciplines include athletics, health, law, sociology, family, religion, civil liberties, employment and entertainment.
Race Relations in America This link opens in a new window
Based at Fisk University from 1943-1970, the Race Relations Department and its annual Institute were set up by the American Missionary Association to investigate problem areas in race relations and develop methods for educating communities and preventing conflict.
Documenting three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights, this resource showcases the speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by the Department’s staff and Institute participants, including Charles S. Johnson, Dr Martin Luther King, Jr., and Thurgood Marshall. The resource is provided by Adam Matthew.
Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
The Black Studies Center provides access to several resources at once: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), 10 historical African American newspapers, Black Literature Index and 100 oral history videos in History Makers.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The definitive online tool for film and television research.More Info It is a comprehensive bibliographic and full-text database covering the entire spectrum of television and film.
It is a comprehensive bibliographic and full-text database covering the entire spectrum of television and film. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. The database provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for 350 publications (and selected coverage of nearly 300), as well as full text for more than 100 journals and nearly 100 books
PolicyFile This link opens in a new window
The database can be browsed by primary contributor or thematically and all abstracts have been linked to Home Pages, electronic mail addresses and full text documents, where available.
PolicyFile includes information addressing virtually all aspects of public policy. Specific themes listed include: Arms Control, the Commonwealth of Independent States, Democratization, the Department of Defense, Economic Policy, Education Policy, the European Union, Global Economics and International Trade, Health Policy and Health Care Reform, Human Rights, Immigration, Intelligence, Latin America, Science and Technology Policy, State and Local Issues, Terrorism, and Urban Policy. The database can be browsed by primary contributor or thematically and all abstracts have been linked to Home Pages, electronic mail addresses and full text documents, where available.
Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson) (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Subject coverage includes adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods and much more...
Social Science Research Network This link opens in a new window
Access to scholarly articles, abstracts and working papers in the social sciences including many Marshall faculty.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Abstract and citation database of scholarly literature in psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes journal articles, books, reports, theses, and dissertations from 1806 to present.
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The definitive index to articles and other literature (books, dissertations, book reviews, etc.) covering the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada, from the 15th century to the present. Indexes nearly 1,800 journals from 1860s to present, including all key journals in the discipline, state and local history publications, and selected articles from scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including military history, women's history, history of education, and much more.
This database provides indexing of historical articles from more than 1,800 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955 and access to the full text of more than 349 journals and more than 120 books.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Abstract and citation database of scholarly literature in psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes journal articles, books, reports, theses, and dissertations from 1806 to present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A growing full text collection of core social science, humanities, and science journals and books.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is one of the first statistic portals in the world to integrate data on over 80.000 topics from over 18.000 sources onto a single professional platform and providing companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.