Finding a policy
Finding policies and policy information can be tricky! It often takes some digging around and strategic Google searching.
- For FEDERAL policies, start with the video below on searching for a federal law on your topic.
- For STATE policies, you'll need to do a Google search. Include the topic and state you're looking for and limit your search to .gov or .org websites. For example: "mental health offenders Minnesota site:.gov;.org"
Once you have found a policy that interests you, use one of the policy databases in the box below to find analyses and briefings about that policy from think tanks and government agencies.
Policy Brief Databases
Use these resources to find background information, analysis and current developments of the policy you are researching.
- Congressional Reports via OpenCRSReports from the Congressional Research Service, a "think tank" that provides these reports to members of Congress on a variety of topics relevant to current political events.
- CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new windowCQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
- Policy ArchivePolicyArchive is digital archive of global, non-partisan public policy research. Search for summaries and full text materials of think tank, university, government, and foundation-funded policy research.
- Policy File Index This link opens in a new windowInformation from over 350 public policy think tanks, nongovernmental organizations, research institutes, university centers, advocacy groups, and other entities.
- ProCon.org This link opens in a new windowThe website's mission is to promote critical thinking, education, and informed citizenship by presenting controversial issues in a straightforward, nonpartisan, primarily pro-con format.
- Proquest Congressional This link opens in a new windowThis database indexes and abstracts a broad spectrum of Congressional publications, including hearings (testimony), committee prints, reports, documents, and full text of bills and public laws, and the U.S. Statutes at Large from 1789 to the present.