SOWK 536: Policy and Advocacy in Professional Social Work: Demographics & Statistics

The Census Bureau is the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy. You have two options to start your search on the landing page of data.census.gov: a free-form single search bar or an advanced search filtering experience.

Welcome to Data LA, the open data portal for the City of Los Angeles.

Provides access to statistical information produced by the Federal Government either by agency name, by subject or by state.

Healthy City provides data and mapping tools to help you build a better community.

Issues biennial report about homeless statistics in Los Angeles

Orange County 211 is a local agency that manages homeless directories for Orange County.

This database provides fast and easy access to statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, states, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations.

Web-based mapping application enables non-technical users to quickly create thematic maps and reports/tables using extensive demographic, social, business and marketing data.

Social Explorer allows users to visually display demographic data in the U.S. from 1790 through the present at a variety of geographic levels, create reports, maps and animations that can be downloaded.

The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) is the lead Federal agency charged with improving the safety and quality of America's health care system. AHRQ develops the knowledge, tools, and data needed to improve the health care system and help Americans, health care professionals, and policymakers make informed health decisions.

information on the rate and number of work-related injuries, illnesses, and fatal injuries, and how these statistics vary by incident, industry, geography, occupation, and other characteristics.

Through its Free the Data initiative, CHCF seeks to unlock the potential of government health data by catalyzing development of tools to better access, analyze, and communicate information.

National Vital Statistics Reports (NVSR) are regular issues from the National Vital Statistics System (NVSS) that cover provisional birth, death, marriage, and divorce statistics.

Links to statistics related to numerous topics.

Information and data about healthcare coverage in the U.S.

Robust site about healthcare reform and the Affordable Healthcare Act.

Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans. For 3 decades, Healthy People has established benchmarks and monitored progress over time in order to encourage collaborations across communities and sectors, empower individuals toward making informed health decisions, and measure the impact of prevention activities.

he reports and other products in this section can serve as resources to public health officials and other health professionals who need up-to-date statistics and data sources around mental health and mental illness.

NAMI, the National Alliance on Mental Illness, is the nation’s largest grassroots mental health organization dedicated to building better lives for the millions of Americans affected by mental illness.

NIMH offers authoritative information about mental health disorders and the latest mental health research.

The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) is the agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) that leads public health efforts to advance the behavioral health of the nation and to improve the lives of individuals living with mental and substance use disorders, and their families.

Statistics on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government

This site summarizes U.S. statistics about drug-related crimes, law enforcement, courts, and corrections from Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) and non-BJS sources.

Information on many aspects of juvenile justice, including sentencing, recidivism and prevention.

The OJJDP Statistical Briefing Book (SBB) enables users to access online information via OJJDP's Web site to learn more about juvenile crime and victimization and about youth involved in the juvenile justice system.

UNODC collects data on crime and the operation of criminal justice systems in order to make policy-relevant information and analysis available in a timely manner to the international community.

Information about the LGBT population from the Williams Institute, a national think tank focusing on sexual orientation, gender identity law and public policy.

The OECD Gender Data Portal includes selected indicators shedding light on gender inequalities in education, employment, entrepreneurship, health, development and Governance, showing how far we are from achieving gender equality and where actions is most needed. The data cover OECD member countries, as well as partner economies including Brazil, China, India, Indonesia, and South Africa.

The Institute for Women’s Policy Research (IWPR) conducts rigorous research and disseminates its findings to address the needs of women, promote public dialog, and strengthen families, communities, and societies.

Data from the Association of Religion Data Archives

The Religious Landscape Study surveys more than 35,000 Americans from all 50 states about their religious affiliations, beliefs and practices, and social and political views.

Datasets and resources published by the Office of Immigration Statistics.

The Center for Immigration Studies is an independent, non-partisan, non-profit, research organization.

These reports provide data on various aspects of USCIS operations.

From the U.S. Dept of Health & Human Services. Reports, databases and demographics on topics from prevention to permanency, including child abuse and neglect, foster care, and adoption.

KIDS COUNT is a project of the Annie E. Casey Foundation and a premier source of data on children and families. Each year, the Foundation produces a comprehensive report — the KIDS COUNT Data Book — that assesses child well-being in the United States.

Using information collected through various monitoring and reporting systems, the Children's Bureau analyzes and reports data on a variety of topics, including adoption, foster care, and child abuse and neglect.

The Census Bureau collects data about American families for the nation, states and communities.

A resource since 1988, the National Data Archive on Child Abuse and Neglect (NDACAN) promotes scholarly exchange among researchers in the child maltreatment field. NDACAN acquires microdata from leading researchers and national data collection efforts and makes these datasets available to the research community for secondary analysis.