Journal Articles
These databases will help you find articles related to the life and health sciences.
Don't see what you're looking for? Check out our A to Z list of health science databases.
- Biosis Citation Index This link opens in a new windowLife sciences and biomedical research database covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more.
- PubMed@USC This link opens in a new windowPubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 12 million citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information including Science, Social Sciences, and Arts & Humanities.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowAbstract and citation database of scholarly literature in psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes journal articles, books, reports, theses, and dissertations from 1806 to present.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic ReviewsThe Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews provides access to full-text systematic reviews.
- Nexis Uni (formerly LEXIS/NEXIS Academic) This link opens in a new windowDatabase of full text online news, legal cases, and company information from 1980 to present. Includes Nexis Dossier and Total Patent One.
- MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowAccess to MEDLINE database through Ovid. Citations to articles related to clinical and research information in the bio-medical sciences. Coverage ranges from 1946-present.
Clinical Information
These databases provide clinically-oriented information to support health care professionals. Includes summaries of multiple journal articles; book chapters; drug monographs; clinical decision support tools; and other clinical information.
- Diagnosaurus This link opens in a new windowAllows searching of over 1000 differential diagnoses by symptoms, diseases and organ systems.
- GIDEON This link opens in a new windowKnowledge database for information regarding global infectious diseases.
- MedlinePlus This link opens in a new windowConsumer health information. This US-government-produced website provides free medical information and is written for a non-professional audience. Also available entirely in Spanish.
- Micromedex This link opens in a new windowSearch for summaries and detailed monographs for drugs, toxicological managements, reproductive risks, and acute/emergency care. Find drug interactions, generic names, dosing information.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new windowUpToDate is a collaborative effort of thousands of physician educators. For each clinical issue, an expert in the field reviews the topic, synthesizes information, summarizes key findings, and provides detailed, practical recommendations for patient care.