Evidence-Based Clinical Databases
Evidence-based clinical databases provide summarized, graded evidence to inform clinical practice.
Exact coverage varies by database, but generally includes overviews of diseases and clinical guidelines.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new windowAn evidence-based resource covering multiple medical specialties. Includes topic monographs, patient education, practice updates, drug interactions, guidelines, and medical calculators. To obtain CME, create a personal profile and log in.
- BMJ Best Practice This link opens in a new windowEvidence-based overviews of medical topics, continually updated. Includes calculators and patient handouts. Create personal account to claim CME credits.
Drug Information Databases
Drug information databases provide access to information about drugs.
Exact coverage varies by database, but includes topics such as dosage and administration, mechanism of action, pharmacokinetics, contraindications, and pill ID.
- UpToDate Lexidrug (formerly Lexicomp) This link opens in a new windowMonographs, ebooks and interactive tools covering over the counter and prescription drugs.
- Micromedex This link opens in a new windowBrief and detailed monographs for prescription and over the counter drugs; The Red Book for drug pricing; interactive tools for interactions and compatibility; additional references on drug names, toxicology, patient education,and diseases.
- Natural Medicines This link opens in a new windowEvidence-based monographs and clinical summaries for alternative and complementary therapies, including herbs, vitamins, dietary supplements, and integrative therapies. Includes information from Traditional Chinese Medicine, Ayurveda, and other holistic wellness systems.
- Dietary Supplements Labels Database (DSLD) This link opens in a new windowLabels from hundreds of dietary supplements sold in the United States.
- Clinical Pharmacology (Clinical Key interface)This database is purchased by the School of Pharmacy. Affiliates of the school may use the USC VPN to access this; or, find instructions for creating a personal username and password at the School of Pharmacy's Intranet.
Literature Databases
Literature databases provide access to scholarly, popular, and proprietary literature relating to drug therapy, drug development, economic and policy issues relating to drugs, results from clinical trials, and related information.
- PubMed@USC This link opens in a new windowSearch over 30 million citations to biomedical literature.
- Embase This link opens in a new windowEmbase provides access to over more than 29 million citations for biomedical articles and conference proceedings. This version has been customized for USC users to find the full-text of articles from library holdings.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowMost comprehensive database of full-text for nursing & allied health journals from 1937 to present. Includes access to scholarly journal articles, dissertations, magazines, pamphlets, evidence-based care sheets, books, and research instruments.
- International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowWorldwide coverage of pharmaceutical science and practice literature. Includes coverage of drug development, pharmacoeconomics, toxicity, regulation, and technology.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowThis database contains information on published and unpublished sources on thousands of educational topics. Updated monthly.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowAbstract and citation database of scholarly literature in psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes journal articles, books, reports, theses, and dissertations from 1806 to present.
Statistics
- Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) This link opens in a new windowGovernment resource including broad coverage of: health topics, Evidence-based Practice Center reports, US government programs, research tools, data and statistics, grants, consumer health.
- National Center for Health Statistics This link opens in a new windowThis federal government site collects vital statistics gathered nationally or by individual states and makes them available for consumers, clinicians, and researchers.
- Health Statistics GuideA comprehensive guide to statistical information on health, wellness, and expenditures at the county, state, and national levels.