Skip to Main Content
Research Guides
? Ask Us / FAQS

Medical Students: Year 1

Information for students in year 1 in the MD Program. Includes tutorials, eResouces, citation guides, and research assistance

Find It @ USC

play triangle button

Watch this short video from USC Libraries to learn more about using Find It @ USC to access full-text articles in any of our databases.

 

LibKey Nomad Browser Extension

The Norris Medical Library recommends adding LibKey Nomad to your browsers. This browser extension connects you to USC Libraries journal subscriptions directly from some databases and journals.

A green teardrop button will appear under at title in the search results page or in the bottom left hand of your screen when you have access to the full text of an item.

example showing what the LibKey browser looks like. It is a green teardrop.

To add LibKey Nomad Browser Extension

  1. Navigate to the download page linked below and choose the browser you're using (Google Chrome, Microsoft Edge, or Mozilla Firefox).
  2. Add the extension
  3. Double check that you select University of Southern California as your organization.

Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery (IDD)

Articles that are not available through the library can be requested through Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery (IDD)

Eligibility

All University of Southern California University Park Campus (UPC) and Health Sciences Campus (HSC) faculty, staff, graduate students, and undergraduate students currently employed and registered with the University are eligible to request material through IDD.

Account Log-in

IDD utilizes university authentication requiring that you use your USC Net ID and your USC email password to access the system. 

Delivery Time

If the item requested is not owned by USC Libraries:

  • Average Interlibrary Loan Article Turnaround Time: 24-48 hours
  • Average Interlibrary Loan Physical Item Turnaround Time: 3-5 days

 

Full-Text Available through the USC Libraries

To access full-text journal articles, make sure to access PubMed from the library's homepage.

Access PubMed via USC Libraries Homepage

  • On the USC Libraries homepage scroll down to the 'Norris Medical Library' box to either navigate to NML's homepage or the 'PubMed@USC' link. If you want to go directly to PubMed, select the 'PubMed@USC' link. You may be prompted to login with your USC NetID, which will connect you to the library's journal subscriptions.

Access PubMed via the NML Homepage

  • You can quickly search PubMed on the homepage of the NML website by typing into the search box and checking that the toggle menu is set to 'PubMed@USC'. You may be prompted to login with your USC NetID, which will connect you to the library's journal subscriptions.
    • search box on the Norris Medical Library homepage set to serach PubMed
  • Or, another way to access PubMed from the NML homepage is to scroll down to the Popular Resources box and select 'PubMed@USC'. You may be prompted to login with your USC NetID, which will connect you to the library's journal subscriptions.
    • Show popular resources box and highlight the PubMed@USC link

Accessing Full-text From PubMed

In PubMed, look for the crimson FIND IT@USC button to download or locate the full-text article.