Selected Science and Engineering Resources
Below is a list of selected chemistry databases that will be helpful for your lab assignment and for future labs/classes.
As you may have learned from previous classes, individual journal articles are not indexed in library catalogs, like USC Libraries' Catalog. Instead you have to use a database, like SciFinder or Web of Science, to find individual articles. These databases allow you to search across thousands of journals and publishers at once.
- PubMed@USC This link opens in a new windowPubMed provides access to millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. This version is customized for USC users to find the full-text of articles.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary collection of journal articles, conference proceedings, and books. Collection of seven online database: Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Index Chemicus, Current Chemical Reactions, and Book Citation Index. Coverage is 1900-present.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowLarge abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes bibliometrics tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
- SciFinder This link opens in a new windowArticles, patents, and white papers describing chemicals. Includes information on structures, reactions, compounds, drug development, and manufacturing. Requires separate login. Go to USC's create an account page to register.
- Reaxys This link opens in a new windowA chemistry database consisting of deeply excerpted compounds and related factual properties, reaction and synthesis information as well as bibliographic data, navigated and displayed via an actionable interface.
If you have questions about using SciFinder, please contact me or visit the SciFinder Training resources page for tutorials and other materials.
- Reaxys This link opens in a new windowA chemistry database consisting of deeply excerpted compounds and related factual properties, reaction and synthesis information as well as bibliographic data, navigated and displayed via an actionable interface.
- Spectral Databases for Organic Compounds (SDBS)Spectra for over 33,000 organic compounds, mostly FT-IR, MS, 13C-NMR and H-NMR.