Reference Sources
- Merck Index Online This link opens in a new windowThe Merck Index Online is a fully-searchable database with over 11,500 monographs on chemicals, drugs, and biologicals. In addition, the Merck Index includes a reference of over 500 named organic reactions and reference tables that include common abbreviations, chemical structures, constants, and conversions.
- CHEMnetBASE This link opens in a new windowA collection of chemistry databases from CRC Press, which can be subscribed to individually or collectively. CHEMnetBASE includes: CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, Combined Chemical Dictionary, Dictionary of Natural Products, Dictionary of Organic Compounds, Dictionary of Drugs, Dictionary of Marine Natural Products, Dictionary of Food Compounds, Polymers: A Property Database, and Properties of Organic Compounds. Provided by Taylor & Francis.
- Organic SynthesesOrganic Syntheses provides the chemistry community with detailed, reliable, and carefully checked procedures for the synthesis of organic compounds. Some procedures describe practical methods for the preparation of specific compounds of interest, while other procedures illustrate important synthetic methods with general utility. Each procedure is written in considerably more detail as compared to typical experimental procedures in other journals.
- Sigma-AldrichOne of the leading chemical production companies in the world. They provide free information on all chemicals they produce.
- PubChem This link opens in a new windowRepository of chemical data focusing on biological activities of small molecules. Find physical, biological, and chemical properties, and relationships to health and disease.
- ChemSpider This link opens in a new windowThis free chemical database collates structure and property information from both experiments and predictions. Also includes curated list of literature and datasets relating to a chemical.