SWOT Analysis
Strength, Weakness, Opportunities and Threats (SWOT)
SWOT Analysis Signpost, Image courtesy of scottchan / FreeDigitalPhotos.net
The analysis of a firm’s strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, and threats. A SWOT analysis helps evaluate how a company will perform in a competitive environment.
SWOT analysis. (2003). In Webster's new world finance and investment dictionary.
Retrieved from https://libproxy.usc.edu/login?url=https://search.credoreference.com.
libproxy.usc.edu/content/entry/wileynwfid/swot_analysis/0
- PassportThe Passport/GMID (Global Market Information Database) by Euromonitor provides a wide range of consumer market and industry information in more than 80 countries around the world. It includes company profiles, some with SWOT analysis, country briefings, sector briefings, sector data, industry watch articles and detailed Consumer Lifestyle reports.
- Business Insights: Global This link opens in a new windowBusiness Insights: Global is a source for international business intelligence offering the most comprehensive and convenient way to find case studies, in-depth statistical data coupled with deep research, and the ability to compare global economies, countries and industries. Also known as Gale Business Insights.
Market Research Reports
- Business Insights: Global This link opens in a new windowBusiness Insights: Global is a source for international business intelligence offering the most comprehensive and convenient way to find case studies, in-depth statistical data coupled with deep research, and the ability to compare global economies, countries and industries. Also known as Gale Business Insights.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowIndustry Market Research reports and Industry Risk Ratings. Focuses on United States, but has some data on global markets.
- Mintel This link opens in a new windowMintel Reports and Mintel Trends provide comprehensive, in-depth consumer and market analysis and trends. Mintel Global New Product Database includes detailed product data on new products in the food, drink, beauty and personal care, health and hygiene, home care and pet markets..
- MarketResearch.com AcademicMarket research reports from several sources covering a wide range of industries, services and products. Content includes industry interviews, competitive analysis, market trends, product innovations, buyer behavior, and market share.
- ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new windowBusiness information, including journals, newspapers, magazines, trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, and market reports. Covers 1971-present. Includes US and international information.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista provides access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.
- Gale OneFile: Hospitality and Tourism This link opens in a new windowDiscover well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism industries.
- Mint GlobalUS and international company information from Bureau van Dijk including Datamonitor market research and company reports.
- OrbisUS and international company information from Bureau van Dijk including Datamonitor market research and company reports (same content as Mint Global with a different interface).
- Standard & Poor's NetAdvantageA comprehensive source of business and investment information, offering on-line access to Standard & Poor's independent research, data and commentary on stocks, bonds, funds, and industries.
- Consumer Expenditure Surveycompiled by the U.S. Census Bureau.The Consumer Expenditure Survey (CE) program consists of two surveys, the Quarterly Interview Survey and the Diary Survey, that provide information on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families and single consumers) characteristics. The survey data are collected for the Bureau of Labor Statistics by the U.S. Census Bureau.
- SBRnet (Sports Business Research Network)Sports Business Research Network provides market research and industry news for the sports industry. SBRnet's site combines market research from the largest single research supplier to the industry, the National Sporting Goods Association; the U.S. Department of Commerce; various sports governing bodies.
- Insider Intelligence (formerly known as eMarketer) This link opens in a new windowProvides analysis, market data, and statistics on the Internet, e-commerce, online marketing, social media, and emerging digital technologies around the world.
Industry Research
Checkout the Industry Research Guide
- Industry ResearchIndustry Research Guide created by the USC Business Librarians. USC Databases, industries, and government resources, and more....
Advertising & Industry Research
There is an Industry Research Guide that has a wealth of information to explore.
USC Industry Information Databases
- TOP INDUSTRY DATABASES:
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowIndustry Market Research reports and Industry Risk Ratings. Focuses on United States, but has some data on global markets.
- MarketResearch.com Academic This link opens in a new windowFind lengthy, detailed market reports or brief white papers describing all types of businesses. Covers international and US markets.
- Passport This link opens in a new windowThe Passport/GMID (Global Market Information Database) by Euromonitor provides a wide range of consumer market and industry information in more than 80 countries around the world.
- Mintel This link opens in a new windowMintel Reports and Mintel Trends provide comprehensive, in-depth consumer and market analysis and trends. Mintel Global New Product Database includes detailed product data on new products in the food, drink, beauty and personal care, health and hygiene, home care and pet markets..
- ADDITIONAL RESOURCES:
- Insider Intelligence (formerly known as eMarketer) This link opens in a new windowProvides analysis, market data, and statistics on the Internet, e-commerce, online marketing, social media, and emerging digital technologies around the world.
- EStatement Studies This link opens in a new windoweStatement Studies is the online version of the Annual Statement Studies produced by the Risk Management Association (RMA).
- Forrester This link opens in a new windowTechnology and market research from Forrester Research, Inc. focusing on the business implications of technology change.
- Gartner This link opens in a new windowResearch from Gartner, Inc., an information technology research and advisory company. Gartner works with clients to research, analyze and interpret the business of IT.
- SBRnet (Sports Business Research Network) This link opens in a new windowSports Business Research Network provides market research and industry news for the sports industry.
- SRDS - Standard Rate and Data Service This link opens in a new windowSRDS is produced by Standard Rate and Data Service, which compiles contact information and ad rates for a variety of media sources.
- WARC This link opens in a new windowPreviously known as the World Advertising Research Center, WARC provides a wide range of information on advertising and marketing trends around the world including expenditure data, case studies, industry trends and consumer insight.
Company Research
- Hoovers OnlineThe world's top enterprises is at the core of our business tools and service that customers find vital to their operations. In depth company history,financial, IPO, stocks and background information available.
Also, use the Industries tab. - InvestextReports and forecasts prepared by top Wall Street and international brokerage firms More than 11,000 U.S. and international companies and 53 industries are covered.
- Mergent OnlineU.S. Company Data. An Internet-accessible subscription service covering 10,000 public companies and their SEC filings
International Company Data. More companies from more countries than any other international database, with global searching across databases. - Mergent WebReportsMergent WebReports provides online access to the Moody's/Mergent manuals. These manuals provide corporate histories, business descriptions, and information on properties, subsidiaries, officers and directors, long-term debt, financial statements and municipal debt. Years vary 1920's to present.
- Standard & Poor's NetAdvantageA comprehensive source of business and investment information, offering on-line access to Standard & Poor's independent research, data and commentary on stocks, bonds, funds, and industries. Content includes detailed tock reports, company profiles, bond reports, corporation records, mutual fund reports, security dealers directory and industry surveys.
- PassportGlobal Market Information Database (GMID by Euromonitor) providesinternational company, country, industry and market information. Searchoptions include industries, countries, consumers, companies andgeographies. User has ability to download reports in Word, Excel or PDF
- Advertising Red Books (Winmo) This link opens in a new windowAdvertiser Database contains exclusive information on nearly 21,000 U.S. and international advertisers who each spend more than $200,000 annually on advertising.
- Gartner This link opens in a new windowUse the "Advanced Search" feature to locate full-text articles available to USC users. Not all documents are available in full-text form. Research from Gartner, Inc., an information technology research and advisory company. Gartner works with clients to research, analyze and interpret the business of IT.
- InvestextAnalyst reports by brokerage firms, investment banks and other organizations on over 11,000 U.S. and international companies and 53 industries. This database has been replaced by ThomsonOne.
- SRDS - Standard Rate and Data ServiceSRDS is produced by Standard Rate and Data Service, which compiles contact information and ad rates for a variety of media sources. The print versions are useful when you have specific publications in mind, but our online access allows you to search across publications using keywords.
- PrivCo This link opens in a new windowPrivCo is the premiere source for business and financial research on non-publicly traded corporations, including family-owned, private equity-owned, venture-backed and international unlisted companies. You must create an account (USC e-mail address) to login.
- OSIRIS This link opens in a new windowUS and international public company information from Bureau van Dijk.
- Data Axle Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA) This link opens in a new windowProvides in-depth information on public and private US businesses. Especially useful for finding lists of smaller or regional companies.