search tips
Once you have identified your topic, check to see if it is too specific, if it is, work toward a general focus. This will help you generate a list of keywords, or concepts related to your topic.
Keywords
travel, tourism, e-commerce, "mobile devices", smartphones, United States,vacations, digital travel, etc....
Use AND, OR, NOT to connect your phrases/keywords
to locate both smartphones AND travel
to locate either word U.S. OR United States
to locate (the first word) vacation NOT trip
* truncation symbol
travel* travels, travelers, traveling, traveled
Case Studies
Here are a few databases to locate Case Studies:
- EmeraldTo search for Case Studies, under Resources select Teaching Zone, then, Case studies Collection.
- WARCWARC provides a wide range of information on advertising and marketing trends around the world including expenditure data, case studies, industry trends and consumer insight.
- ProQuest Research LibrarySelect Advance Search and for Document type: select Case Study
Sage Research Methods
Selecting a research method is important. Use Sage Research Methods to locate examples.
- SAGE Research Methods Online and CasesSAGE Research Methods includes books, articles, encyclopedias, and videos covering social science research design and methods including the complete Little Green Book series of Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences and the Little Blue Book series of qualitative research. Also includes case studies outlining the research methods used in real research projects
Trade Publications
Communication Research Databases
If you need additional Communication resources checkout the Research Guide for other subjects
Use the Advance Search to locate some of the following materials:
| Peer Reviewed | Case Studies |
| Trade Journals | Reports |
| Magazines | Book Chapters |
| Newspapers | Analysis |
Here are a few databases to begin your research:
- Communication Source This link opens in a new windowIncludes articles from peer-reviewed journals and trade magazines covering mass media, marketing, communications, and related topics.
- ABI/INFORM CompleteArticles from leading business journals, magazines, trade publications and newspapers including the Wall Street Journal. Available through ProQuest Articles from leading business journals, magazines, trade publications and newspapers including the Wall Street Journal. Available through ProQuest
- ProQuest Research -Multiple DatabaseProQuest Multiple Databases is a multi-disciplinary index. It simultaneously searches dozens of subject areas, indexes thousands of general and scholarly titles. It is an excellent starting place for research for a paper, particularly if one isn't sure where to begin their research.
- GenderWatchGenderWatch is a full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. Subjects covered include: business, education, literature and the arts, health sciences, history, political science, public policy, sociology, gender and women's studies and more
- SAGE Premier This link opens in a new windowThis resource is the largest journals package offered by SAGE. It includes international, peer-reviewed journals, including high-impact research titles published on behalf of nearly 300 scholarly and professional societies. Its interdisciplinary coverage is unparalleled, spanning subject areas including business; humanities; social sciences; science, technology, medicine; and many more.
- ProQuest TelecommunicationsProQuest Telecommunications is a essential resource for anyone researching the industry or its technology. The database includes over 140 titles, with more than 115 available in full text. Whether youre looking for the latest news on WAP technology, following market penetration of new technologies, or gathering information about the key players in this field, ProQuest Telecommunications helps you stay one step ahead.
- EBSCO Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowThis database provides articles from business journals, magazines and newspapers including the Harvard Business Review, McKinsey Quarterly and many others.
Health Related
- MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowAccess to MEDLINE database through Ovid. Citations to articles related to clinical and research information in the bio-medical sciences. Coverage ranges from 1946-present.
- Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new windowIncludes academic journal and magazine articles, reports, association and consumer proceedings, and book excerpts covering alternative and complementary therapies, including homeopathy, herbalism, nutrition, and traditional Chinese medicine from 1990 to the present.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed provides access to millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Limit your search to 'free full-text' to find items freely available without subscriptions.
Databases
- Business Abstracts with Full Text (H.W. Wilson)Business Abstracts with Full Text™ offers a multitude of business magazines and scholarly journals: this comprehensive database contains the full text of articles from more than 510 key publications.
- LGBT Life with Full TextLGBT Life is the premier resource to the world's literature regarding Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender and Transsexual issues. Comprehensive coverage includes traditional academic, lifestyle, and regional publications and more...
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowAbstract database of sociology and social and behavioral sciences literature from 1952 to present. Includes journal articles, conference papers, books, and dissertations.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowAbstract and citation database of scholarly literature in psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes journal articles, books, reports, theses, and dissertations from 1806 to present.
- EBSCO Business Source CompleteThis database provides articles from business journals, magazines and newspapers including the Harvard Business Review, McKinsey Quarterly and many others.
- SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new windowComprehensive database for sports & sports medicine literature. Includes international literature, conference proceedings, audiovisuals and more. Coverage dates back to 1985.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA growing full text collection of core social science, humanities, and science journals and books.
- Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowIndexing, abstracts, and much full-text coverage for music periodicals since 1874.
- Bloomsbury Fashion Central This link opens in a new windowBloomsbury Fashion Central is a dynamic digital hub for interdisciplinary research in fashion and dress. Includes the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, an extensive E-Book collection, a vast image bank, and links to related reference resources.
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowIndexing, abstracts, and much full-text coverage for performing arts periodicals since 1864.
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus This link opens in a new windowThis essential tool for film studies, created by the International Federation of Film Archives, indexes more than 300,000 articles from 300 of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals, dating from 1972 onward.
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new windowFilm & Television Literature Index with Full Text is the definitive online tool for film and television research.
- Leisure, Travel and Mass Culture: The History of Tourism This link opens in a new windowThis collection documents the growth of tourism from the mid-1800s through to the 1980s. This resource is provided by Adam Matthew.
- Gale OneFile: Hospitality and Tourism This link opens in a new windowDiscover well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism industries.
- ERIC (ProQuest)The ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education literature to augment American education by increasing and facilitating the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research.
- Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson) (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowEducation database (including administration, teaching methods, and curriculum)
- Web of ScienceWeb of Science (a.k.a. Web of Knowledge): Provides citations covering over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings.
- SBRnet (Sports Business Research Network) This link opens in a new windowSports Business Research Network provides market research and industry news for the sports industry.
- IEEE XploreA comprehensive database deliving full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new windowFocuses on public policy, international relations, economic and social conditions. Includes articles, books, conference papers, government reports, and research reports, 1915-present.
- SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new windowComprehensive database for sports & sports medicine literature. Includes international literature, conference proceedings, audiovisuals and more. Coverage dates back to 1985.