Research Guides: Public Diplomacy: Country Information

Country Information

Africa South of the Sahara
A searchable, comprehensive directory of web resources about countries south of the Sahara. Contents are arranged by country and topic as well.
BBC News Country Profiles
Supplies information on the history, economy, and politics of countries and territories as well as maps, facts, and current leaders. Each profile includes links to news items on that country that have appeared on the BBC network.
World Factbook
provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.

Nexis Uni (formerly LEXIS/NEXIS Academic) This link opens in a new window
Database of full text online news, legal cases, and company information from 1980 to present. Includes Nexis Dossier and Total Patent One.
Country Studies This link opens in a new window
The Country Studies/Area Handbook Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
The series examines the interrelationships of those systems and the ways they are shaped by cultural factors. Studies included here were published between 1988 and 1998. Information on some countries may no longer be up to date. See the "Research Completed" date at the beginning of each study or the "Data as of" date at the end of each section of text. Older studies, including some on countries that no longer exist in the same form, such as East Germany and the Soviet Union, may be retained because they continue to offer historical information of value to researchers.

EurasiaNet
provides information and analysis about political, economic, environmental and social developments in the countries of Central Asia and the Caucasus, as well as in Russia, the Middle East, and Southwest Asia. The web site also offers additional features, including newsmaker interviews and book reviews.
Foreign Information by Country
- compiled by the University of Colorado Libraries, this site provides links to government agencies, background information, diplomatic relations, and other resources by topic for all of the countries of the world.

NationMaster This link opens in a new window
Compiles national-level data from global sources like the CIA World Factbook, United Nations, and Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Find pre-created statistical reports or generate maps and graphs.

Global Road Warrior
Business travel guide and country background information.
Human Development Report
site contains country-level data available for review and download from the United Nation's annual Human Development Report.
Global Edge Country Reopts
source for statistical data for nearly every country around the world. In addition to statistics, the database includes summary information on historical, economic, and political conditions and risk assessment.
Library of Congress Country Studies Area Handbooks
provides extensive information on over 91 countries, describing and analyzing political, economic, social, and national security systems and institutions, and examining the interrelationships of those systems and the ways they are shaped by cultural factors. and includes photographs, maps, and charts
World Economic Forum
a comprehensive series of reports which examine in detail the broad range of global issues related to economic imbalances and social inequality risk.

Economist Intelligence Unit Country Reports Archive (ProQuest ) This link opens in a new window
The Economist Intelligence Unit has published Country Reports since 1952, covering almost 200 countries. Each report presents detailed statistics alongside expert commentary and forecasting from the EIU’s analysts. This database presents the historical reports up to 1995, with all data from the statistical tables fully captured and downloadable in spreadsheet form. It is a unique archive of analysis and explanation of political, economic and commercial developments, together with historical statistical data.
Coverage: 1952 - 1995