Political & Goverment Databases for Public Diplomacy
-
Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) This link opens in a new windowThe Homeland Security Digital Library is composed of homeland security documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management collected from a wide variety of sources. These include federal, state, tribal, and local government agencies, professional organizations, think tanks, academic institutions, and international governing bodies. Resources are carefully selected and evaluated by a team of librarians and subject-matter specialists.
-
AccessUNDocuments from the six main bodies of the United Nations - General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council, Trusteeship Council, Secretariat and International Court of Justice - are indexed. Masthead documents (formerly referred to as mimeographed documents), Official Records, sales publications, limited and restricted documents, and documents emanating from sessional and standing committees, functional commissions, conferences and regional bodies are the basis of the Index.
-
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis bibliographic database covers the history of the United States and Canada. It includes key English-language historic journals, selected historic journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and selected relevant journals in the social sciences and humanities.
-
U.S. Declassified Documents Online This link opens in a new windowDeclassified Documents Index provides full text access to formerly U.S. government classified documents that Primary Source Media obtains as they are declassified.
-
Proquest Congressional This link opens in a new windowThis database indexes and abstracts a broad spectrum of Congressional publications, including hearings (testimony), committee prints, reports, documents, and full text of bills and public laws, and the U.S. Statutes at Large from 1789 to the present.
-
Global Legal Information Network This link opens in a new windowGLIN is a public database of official texts of laws, regulations, judicial decisions, and other complementary legal sources contributed by governmental agencies and international organizations.
-
Military and Intelligence Database This link opens in a new windowMilitary and Intelligence Database Collection provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. The database offers content in key subject areas including governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, the structure of the armed forces, and more.
-
CQ Press Electronic Library This link opens in a new windowCongressional issues in the news and coverage of the status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity,
Public Diplomacy e-Journals
Selected list of Public Diplomacy journals available in online.
Databases for Public Diplomacy
There are several databases where you can locate articles and case studies on various Public Diplomacy topic. Here are a few:
-
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new windowThis database provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international journal literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration and policy. Over 1,700 titles are monitored for coverage and, of these, 67% are published outside of the United States.
-
PolicyFile This link opens in a new windowPolicyFile includes information addressing virtually all aspects of public policy. Specific themes listed include: Arms Control, the Commonwealth of Independent States, Democratization, the Department of Defense, Economic Policy...
-
PAIS Index This link opens in a new windowA selective list of the latest books, periodical articles, government documents, pamphlets, microfiche, and reports of public and private agencies relating to business, economic and social conditions, public policy and administration, and international relations. The database contains more than 480,000 records, each with bibliographic information and brief, descriptive abstracts and includes coverage from 1915 to the present.
-
Proquest Research LibraryScholalry, popular, and newspaper articles from 1980's - present
-
Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowHumanities Full Text? includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals?of which 470 are peer-reviewed?dating as far back as 1984.
-
Sage PremiereFull text of many communication journals, including Communication Research, Games & Culture, Global Media & Communication.
-
Web of ScienceIncludes arts and humanities and social sciences citation databases.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA growing full text collection of core social science, humanities, and science journals and books.
-
Emerald This link opens in a new windowArticles from key journals and books in the fields of management, information science and engineering. Most, but not all, journals and books provide full-text access.
-
Oxford Journals This link opens in a new windowProvides access to a search interface that retrieves articles across all Oxford titles; searches can be limited to specific subject categories.
-
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. Select "Medicine" from the Browse Column, then the resource of interest from the next menu.