Research Guides: Public Diplomacy: Statistics

Country Profiles

EIU Viewpoint (Economic Intelligence Unit) This link opens in a new window
Our subscription to the EIU covers two products. EIU Viewpoint combines political insights, policy analysis and economic assessments with cutting edge forecasts and extensive data for approximately 200 countries.
World Factbook This link opens in a new window
World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. The Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map
The Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.

For more detailed information on locating statistical sources go here:

Census Data
Access to the US census from population, housing, economic, and geographic data.

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new window
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), established in 1962, is an integral part of the infrastructure of social science research. ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction.
ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction.

UNESCO Institute for Statistics
Culture and communication statistics.
World Development Indicators
Annual compilation from the World Bank of statistical data about development, covering over 200 countries. Under 'topic,' select "Development framework" and then "Communications."
World Bank Research Data Sets
These datasets were compiled for World Bank research and are provided free of cost to foster the creation of new knowledge. If you use one of these datasets, please include appropriate attribution to the Development Research Group, World Bank, and the link http://econ.worldbank.org/research

SAGE Data This link opens in a new window
Data-Planet (formerly ProQuest Statistical DataSets) is an interactive database that allows users to create tables, maps, and figures from a variety data sources covering banking, criminal justice, education,energy, food and agriculture, government, health, housing and construction,industry and commerce, labor and employment, natural resources and environment, income, cost of living, stocks, transportation, and more.
Data holdings for the United States are significant with some data available at state, county, or local geographies. International data,available at the country level, include population, food and agriculture, labor, trade, and more. Data are organized by subject and source.