Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Korean Studies *: Digital Archives

Korean Science Fiction and Fantasy Collection

East Asian Archival Collections

Sea of Korea Map Collection

The Sea of Korea Maps Digital Archive consists of the digital images of 186 maps.  Dating from 1606 to 1895, the (mostly European) maps identify the body of water between Japan and Korea as "Sea of Korea" (or similar terms), hence the collection name.  The collection was formed by two separate collections: The David Lee Collection (a Korean American collector) and The Shannon McCune Collection (the prominent professor of East Asian geography). Together, they help to illustrate how the West's image of East Asia evolved over the course of the 17th, 18th, and 19th centuries.

Korean American Digital Archive

The documentary record of the Korean experience in America remains dispersed and difficult to access. The Korean American Digital Archive (KADA) brings more than 13,000 pages of documents, over 1,900 photographs, and about 180 sound files together in one searchable collection that documents the Korean American community during the period of resistance to Japanese rule in Korea and reveal the organizational and private experience of Koreans in America between 1903 and 1965. 

See KADA collections and their links at:

https://digitallibrary.usc.edu/asset-management/2A3BF1O4W5P

 

Korean Digital Archives

This collection contains materials from Americans who spent important parts of their lives in Korea, such as missionaries, soldiers, Peace Corps volunteers, etc.

https://digitallibrary.usc.edu/asset-management/2A3BF1OBEYR