Distance Services
Library Services for Distance Learners
- Virtual reference services: e-mail, online chat services, and the phone
- Consultations with librarians via the phone, e-mail and chat
- Full access to the libraries’ electronic Course Reserves
- Course-specific Research Guides, plus web pages developed at the request of faculty
- Electronic delivery of library materials owned by USC or obtained through Interlibrary loan and Document Delivery
- Home delivery of USC Libraries-owned books via UPS—up to 10 books per semester, delivered approximately within one week of request
- Remote access to USC Libraries’ collection of electronic databases, full-text journal articles, and e-books
Research Assistance
- Contact Your Subject LibrarianFind the librarian who specializes in your discipline.
- Chat with a LibrarianUse our chat service to contact a librarian (M-Th 9am-7pm, F-10am-6pm PST). When no librarian is available, you will receive an answer within 24 hours to your email-generated question.
- See all options to Ask-a-LibrarianEmail, chat, phone (Doheny reference) , plus other support options.
First Step - Login
Your First Login
- When you first login, you will need to Activate your New Account with your NetID.
NetID: Your NetID is the first part of your email address: NetID@usc.edu ( e.g., email address: jose_342@usc.edu, NetID: jose_342). Memorize your NetID, you will need it frequently.
- If you have forgotten (or never knew) your NetID, click Forgot NetID.
You will need to enter your 10-digit USC ID number (from your USCard).
- When you complete the activation procedure, you will see the word: Success
Subject Guides For...
Librarian-created Research Guides in specific subject areas.
How to Get Started: Quick Search and Popular Links
- Google Scholar & USC LibrariesUse this guide to Google Scholar to locate full text articles and books, including library-owned materials. Recommended: First sign into the USC Libraries page and then into Google Scholar with your USC email address.
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new windowProQuest Research Library is a multi-disciplinary index suitable for both undergraduates and graduate students.
- Find Databases by SubjectUse the drop-down menus to browse through the research databases and e-resources for each subject category. Note that most categories will list both the multi-disciplinary resources (e.g., ProQuest) and the subject-specific one (e.g., Social Work Abstracts).
- Find a Journal OnlineSearch by the TITLE of the journal (e.g. American Educational Research Journal) or a portion of the title (e.g. educational research). Note: Annual reports may be listed as journals.
- IDD: Interlibrary Loan and Document DeliveryUse interlibrary loan for
- E-mail delivery of articles and books not owned by USC (InterLibrary Loan)
- E-mail delivery of journal articles and book chapters from the library's print collections
- Home delivery of USC Libraries-owned books (max 10/semester)
- Course Reserves (ARES)Access items your professor has placed on reserve in our library system