*Biological and Life Sciences: Molecular Genetics and Biochemistry

Gain a full understanding of the principles of biochemistry as it relates to clinical medicine A Doody's Core Title for 2019!  The Thirty-First Edition of Harper's Illustrated Biochemistry continues to emphasize the link between biochemistry and the understanding of disease states, disease pathology, and the practice of medicine. Featuring a full-color presentation and numerous medically relevant examples, Harper's presents a clear, succinct review of the fundamentals of biochemistry that every student must understand in order to succeed in medical school.  All 58 chapters help you understand the medical relevance of biochemistry: * Full-color presentation includes more than 600 illustrations * Case studies emphasize the clinical relevance of biochemistry  * NEW CHAPTER on Biochemistry of Transition Metals addresses the importance and overall pervasiveness of  transition metals * Review Questions follow each of the eleven sections * Boxed Objectives define the goals of each chapter * Tables encapsulate important information * Every chapter includes a section on the biomedical importance of a given topic NEW TO THIS EDITION: * Emphasis throughout on the integral relationship between biochemistry and disease, diagnostic pathology, and medical practice * Hundreds of references to disease states throughout * New chapter addressing the biochemical roles of transition metals * Many updated review questions * Frequent tables summarizing key links to disease states * New text on cryo-electron microscopy (cryo-EM) * Cover picture of the protein structure of the Zika virus, solved by cryo-EM Applauded by medical students and online reviewers for its currency and engaging style, Harper's Illustrated Biochemistry is essential for USMLE® review and the single-best reference for learning the clinical relevance of any biochemistry topic. 

Molecular Biology, Third Edition, provides a thoroughly revised, invaluable resource for college and university students in the life sciences, medicine and related fields. This esteemed text continues to meet the needs of students and professors by offering new chapters on RNA, genome defense, and epigenetics, along with expanded coverage of RNAi, CRISPR, and more ensuring topical content for a new class of students. This volume effectively introduces basic concepts that are followed by more specific applications as the text evolves. Moreover, as part of the Academic Cell line of textbooks, this book contains research passages that shine a spotlight on current experimental work reported in Cell Press articles. These articles form the basis of case studies found in the associated online study guide that is designed to tie current topics to the scientific community. Contains new chapters on non-coding RNA, genome defense, epigenetics and epigenomics Features new and expanded coverage of RNAi, CRISPR, genome editing, giant viruses and proteomics Includes an Academic Cell Study Guide that ties all articles from the text with concurrent case studies Provides an updated, ancillary package with flashcards, online self-quizzing, references with links to outside content, and PowerPoint slides with images

For nearly 30 years, Principles of Medical Biochemistry has integrated medical biochemistry with molecular genetics, cell biology, and genetics to provide complete yet concise coverage that links biochemistry with clinical medicine. The 4th Edition of this award-winning text by Drs. Gerhard Meisenberg and William H. Simmons has been fully updated with new clinical examples, expanded coverage of recent changes in the field, and many new case studies online. A highly visual format helps readers retain complex information, and USMLE-style questions (in print and online) assist with exam preparation. Just the right amount of detail on biochemistry, cell biology, and genetics - in one easy-to-digest textbook. Full-color illustrations and tables throughout help students master challenging concepts more easily. Online case studies serve as a self-assessment and review tool before exams. Glossary of technical terms, both in print and online. Clinical Boxes and Clinical Content demonstrate the integration of basic sciences and clinical applications, helping readers make connections between the two. New clinical examples have been added throughout the text. Student Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience includes access -- on a variety of devices -- to the complete text, images, and references from the book.

This new edition provides a comprehensive look at themolecular genetics and biochemical basis of fungal biology, covering importantmodel organisms such as Aspergilli while also integrating advances made with zygomycetes and basidiomycetes. This book groups a total of 15 chapters authored by expert scholars in theirrespective fields into four sections. Five chapters cover various aspects ofgene expression regulation. These range from regulation in organismalinteractions between parasitic fungi and their host plant, heavy metal stressand global control of natural product genes to conidiation and regulationthrough RNA interference. Two chapters are dedicated to signal transduction,highlighting MAP-kinase-dependent signaling and heterotrimeric G-proteins.Fungal carbohydrates are the subject of the third section, which addresses bothpolymeric cell wall carbohydrates and trehalose as an important, low molecularweight carbohydrate. The fourth section emphasizes the metabolism of majorelements (carbon, nitrogen, sulfur) and critical cellular pathways for primaryand secondary products.