*Biological and Life Sciences: Computational Biology and Bioinformatics

Computational biology has developed rapidly during the last two decades following the genomic revolution which culminated in the sequencing of the human genome. More than ever it has developed into a field which embraces computational methods from different branches of the exact sciences: pure and applied mathematics, computer science, theoretical physics. This Second Edition provides a solid introduction to the techniques of statistical mechanics for graduate students and researchers in computational biology and biophysics. Material has been reorganized to clarify equilbrium and nonequilibrium aspects of biomolecular systems Content has been expanded, in particular in the treatment of the electrostatic interactions of biomolecules　and the application of non-equilibrium statistical mechanics to biomolecules New network-based approaches for the study of proteins are presented. All treated topics are put firmly in the context of the current research literature, allowing the reader to easily follow an individual path into a specific research field. Exercises and Tasks accompany the presentations of the topics with the intention of enabling the readers to test their comprehension of the developed basic concepts.  

Algebraic and Combinatorial Computational Biology introduces students and researchers to a panorama of powerful and current methods for mathematical problem-solving in modern computational biology. Presented in a modular format, each topic introduces the biological foundations of the field, covers specialized mathematical theory, and concludes by highlighting connections with ongoing research, particularly open questions. The work addresses problems from gene regulation, neuroscience, phylogenetics, molecular networks, assembly and folding of biomolecular structures, and the use of clustering methods in biology. A number of these chapters are surveys of new topics that have not been previously compiled into one unified source. These topics were selected because they highlight the use of technique from algebra and combinatorics that are becoming mainstream in the life sciences. Integrates a comprehensive selection of tools from computational biology into educational or research programs Emphasizes practical problem-solving through multiple exercises, projects and spinoff computational simulations Contains scalable material for use in undergraduate and graduate-level classes and research projects Introduces the reader to freely-available professional software Supported by illustrative datasets and adaptable computer code

Encyclopedia of Bioinformatics and Computational Biology: ABC of Bioinformatics combines elements of computer science, information technology, mathematics, statistics and biotechnology, providing the methodology and in silico solutions to mine biological data and processes. The book covers Theory, Topics and Applications, with a special focus on Integrative -omics and Systems Biology. The theoretical, methodological underpinnings of BCB, including phylogeny are covered, as are more current areas of focus, such as translational bioinformatics, cheminformatics, and environmental informatics. Finally, Applications provide guidance for commonly asked questions. This major reference work spans basic and cutting-edge methodologies authored by leaders in the field, providing an invaluable resource for students, scientists, professionals in research institutes, and a broad swath of researchers in biotechnology and the biomedical and pharmaceutical industries. Brings together information from computer science, information technology, mathematics, statistics and biotechnology Written and reviewed by leading experts in the field, providing a unique and authoritative resource Focuses on the main theoretical and methodological concepts before expanding on specific topics and applications Includes interactive images, multimedia tools and crosslinking to further resources and databases

This comprehensive textbook presents a self-contained guide to bioinformatics, defined in its broadest sense as the application of information science to biology. Thoroughly updated and greatly expanded, this third edition now includes material on the growing array of "-omics"; covering metagenomics, toxicogenomics, glycomics, lipidomics, microbiomics and phenomics. New chapters have also been added on ecosystems management and the nervous system. Emphasis is placed on providing both a firm grounding in the core concepts and a clear overview of the complete field of bioinformatics.  Features: explains the fundamentals of information science relevant to biology; covers both organismal (ontogeny and phylogeny, as well as genome structure) and molecular aspects; examines the most important practical applications of bioinformatics, providing detailed descriptions of both the experimental process and the data analysis; provides a varied selection of problems throughout the book, to stimulate further thinking.