Research Guides: Dance *: Dance in Video

Dance Heritage Video Archive

Dance Heritage Video Archive (DHVA)
With support from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, the USC Libraries and USC Glorya Kaufman School of Dance created the Dance Heritage Video Archive, which “preserves culturally significant recordings that document global and U.S. dance traditions, creative work by outstanding choreographers and performers, and performances that helped to advance the art form.” This open access collection contains approximately 2,000 videos of choreographers and dancers from across the United States.

Databases

Academic Video Online Premium (AVON) This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online (AVON) is a multidisciplinary collection of videos that touches on the curriculum needs of virtually every department allowing students and researchers alike to analyze unique and valuable content from over 500 producers and distributors around the world. This resource is offered by Alexander Street Press, a Proquest Company.
Alexander Street Music and Dance Online This link opens in a new window
Centralized access to all subscribed music databases under Alexander Street / ProQuest, including streaming audio-visual media, reference resources, and scores.
Dance Online: Dance in Video This link opens in a new window
Contains 500 dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century.
Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. Included are classic performances from top ballet companies; experimental works from up-and-coming dance troupes; documentaries by and about leading choreographers; videos on dance training; and other items covering a wide range of 20th century dance styles.
Dance Online: Dance Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
Dance Online: Dance Studies Collection presents the historical context of 20th and 21st century dance through 150,000 pages of exclusive photographs, correspondence, magazines, dance notation, and reference material supporting informed performance, pedagogy, and scholarship in dance.
Docuseek 2 Complete Collection (via Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
Contains documentaries from leading film producers and distributors, including Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, the BBC, the National Film Board of Canada, CBC, Television Trust for the Environment, MediaStorm, Terra Nova Films, KimStim, and Scorpion TV, and other independent filmmakers from around the world.
The Docuseek2 Collection has a focus on environmental studies and sciences, sociology, anthropology, global studies, area studies, women’s studies, history, political science, criminal justice, health, psychology, the arts, and more.
Medici.tv This link opens in a new window
Video recordings of performances, operas, ballets, master classes, documentaries, and interviews; also includes live events.

Other Sources

videotanz.ru
Streaming dance, theater, and opera performances.