Databases and Journals
- Bloomsbury Fashion Central This link opens in a new windowBloomsbury Fashion Central is a dynamic digital hub for interdisciplinary research in fashion and dress. Includes the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, an extensive E-Book collection, a vast image bank, and links to related reference resources.
- GQ Archive This link opens in a new windowThe backfile of GQ magazine, from its launch in 1931 (as Apparel Arts) to the present. One of the longest-running, most influential men's magazines, GQ expanded its initial focus on fashion to cover general men’s-interest subjects. The digital archive makes available a wealth of editorial content and photography, providing essential insights into the 20th/21st-century history of fashion, popular culture, masculinity, and society.
- Harper's Bazaar Archive (1867 - current) This link opens in a new windowFull color digital scans of all issues, from cover to cover. Supports academic research in a range of fields, including: gender studies, fashion, marketing, advertising, consumerism, material culture, design and more.
- Vogue Archive This link opens in a new windowA complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month. Every article, cover, photo shoot, illustration and advertisement has been digitized to the highest standard, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by designer and brand names.
- Women's Wear Daily Archive This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive archive of Women's Wear Daily, from the first issue in 1910 to material from within the last twelve months, reproduced in high-resolution images.
Library and Museum Links
- FIDM MuseumThe FIDM Museum “fosters student learning, public engagement, and recognition of the creative arts and entertainment industries by providing access to the collections through exhibitions, publications, and other research opportunities.”
- Illinois Library’s Motley Collection of Theatre and Costume DesignA digital collection from the Illinois Library that has thousands of costume designs from 1932 to 1976 for plays by Shakespeare and modern classics, opera, ballet, as well as motion pictures.
- LACMA, “Fashion 1900-2000” Digital CollectionDigital Collection of images related to fashion between 1900-2000.
- The Metropolitan Museum of Art Costume InstituteA “collection of more than thirty-three thousand objects represents seven centuries of fashionable dress and accessories for men, women, and children, from the fifteenth century to the present.”
- Victoria and Albert Museum“From ancient Chinese ceramics to Alexander McQueen evening dresses, take an incredible journey through 5000 years of human creativity with our online collections.”
Podcasts
- Articles of Interest“Articles of Interest is a podcast about what we wear. It began as a critically acclaimed, mini-series within the 99% Invisible podcast, and now is its own separate independent production with Radiotopia.”
- The Art of Costume“The Art of Costume Podcast is hosted by Elizabeth Joy Glass and Spencer Williams, dedicated to highlighting the best in costume design.‘
- The Costume Plot“A podcast about costume design and the performing arts from professional costume designers Jojo Siu and Sarah Timm! Join Jojo and Sarah as they analyze the costumes from your favorite film, TV, and theatre, and offer an inside look at the art and craft of costume design.”
- Designing HollywoodGuest on the podcast include not only costume designers but directors, producers, writers & actors.
- The Museum at FIT Fashion Culture PodcastThis podcast provides new perspectives on the history, impact, and evolution of fashion.
Additional Useful Links
- Asian Fashion ArchiveA digital project showcasing Asian fashion, culture, and history. The website features museums, film clips, recommended publications, and more.
- California Fashion AssociationProvides information regarding the expansion and growth to the apparel and textile industry of California.
- Costume Designer’s GuildThe website for the Costume Designer’s Guild, which is “a union of professional costume designers, assistant costume designers, and illustrators working in film, television, commercials and other media.”
- Europeana FashionFeaturing digitized fashion content from some of Europe’s museums and archives.
- Inside VIDCATArchival videos of fashion from the 1950s to the present.
- Los Angeles Fashion District ReportsReports to “help navigate and assist in the economic development of the LA Fashion District and Downtown LA.”
- Vintage Fashion GuildThe Vintage Fashion Guild is an international organization dedicated to the promotion and preservation of vintage fashion.
- We Wear Culture: the Stories Behind What We WearDeveloped by Google Arts & Culture.