Reports are published weekly 44 times a year. Each single-themed, 12,000-word report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist, each providing researchers with an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources. The CQ Researcher Plus Archive adds more than 3,000 reports, published between 1923 and 1990 to CQ Researcher Online.
These include federal, state, tribal, and local government agencies, professional organizations, think tanks, academic institutions, and international governing bodies. Resources are carefully selected and evaluated by a team of librarians and subject-matter specialists.
About 150 new articles are added each month. Among the events covered are elections and changes of government; wars, treaties, appointments, and diplomacy; terrorism and issues of internal security; legislation, budgets, economic developments and international agreements; actions by the UN and other international organizations; natural disasters, environmental issues, and scientific discoveries. In addition to keyword searching, there is a âBreaking Historyâ feature providing historical analysis and context on todayâs headlines. Each Breaking History article uses the Keesingâs archive to generate a full timeline with links to contemporary articles on the events dominating todayâs news.
PolicyFile includes information addressing virtually all aspects of public policy. Specific themes listed include: Arms Control, the Commonwealth of Independent States, Democratization, the Department of Defense, Economic Policy, Education Policy, the European Union, Global Economics and International Trade, Health Policy and Health Care Reform, Human Rights, Immigration, Intelligence, Latin America, Science and Technology Policy, State and Local Issues, Terrorism, and Urban Policy. The database can be browsed by primary contributor or thematically and all abstracts have been linked to Home Pages, electronic mail addresses and full text documents, where available.
It offers information about institutions and political processes, national constitutions, branches of government, elections, political constitutional studies and other subjects related to democracy in the Americas. With more than 1,500 pages of information, it is an important source of relevant to the 35 countries of the region including U.S., Canada, Mexico, Central America, South America and the Caribbean. Information is classified according to the themes: Political Constitutions and Comparative Constitutional Studies; Executive Branch; Legislative Branch ; Judicial Branch; Electoral Data and Systems; Political Parties; Decentralization and Local Governance; Democracy and Citizen Security; Indigenous Peoples, Democracy and Political Participation; Civil Society.
Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content and includes scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
In addition, over a thousand recent full-text doctoral dissertations on political science topics are included, together with working papers, conference proceedings, country profiles, political news and other sources.
Data holdings for the United States are significant with some data available at state, county, or local geographies. International data,available at the country level, include population, food and agriculture, labor, trade, and more. Data are organized by subject and source.
It offers guidance on issues such as obtaining proper permits and registrations, protecting intellectual property and complying with local tax laws-including e-commerce rules. Provided by the Economist Intelligence Unit.
These online services include access to OECD textual publications as well as publications of the International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the International Transport Forum (ITF) in PDF form and access to OECD statistical databases in which data can be selected and downloaded as .xls, .csv, or .ivt files. Access is available for titles published from January 1998 onwards. Please note that access to the IEA stats is not part of USC's OECD subscription.
It provides a single digital destination for seamlessly accessing publications, journals, data, and series published by the United Nations Secretariat and its funds and programs. Every year around 500 new titles are planned to be added to the database. Approximately 70% of which are in English and cover a variety of subjects.” Some of the topics are drugs, crime and terrorism, environment and climate change, human rights and refugees, migration, public health, and women and gender issues to name just a few.
From agriculture and the environment to economic growth and international trade and security, the WDR has tracked theoretical and empirical findings as well as policies in the field of international development. The robust search engine of the Complete World Development Report Online offers full-text access to all World Development Reports since 1978 published by the World Bank as well as the background papers upon which the most recent reports were drawn. All forthcoming reports will be added to the database as they are published.