Welcome to the USC Libraries! Price New Student Orientation
- Recording of Price New Student Orientation (38mins)Click on "Sign in with SSO," type USC, and login with your USC id and password to view the recording.
By the end of this presentation, students will be able to:
-Find online dissertations, scholarly articles and books through the library catalog.
-Understand what are databases and how to access them through the USC Libraries's website, libraries.usc.edu.
-Recognize research guides to conduct and enhance research.
-Discover the citation management system, Refworks, and how to manage citations.
-Identify how to get help from USC Librarians.
Off-Campus Access
When you click a link to a database, article, e-book or e-journal from the Web site, you will be prompted to log in to the proxy server with your USC ID (the first part of your USC e-mail address) and password.
After logging in, you will be directed automatically to the desired resource. Click the link below for more directions and trouble-shooting tips on how to access the library's resources from off-campus.
Subject Guide
Library for International and Public Affairs, 36B
The Collection
The primary location for all materials is the Library for International & Public Affairs (LIPA). The collection emphasis is on personnel management, organizational theory, public policy, public and non-profit management, and ethics in government. Additional coverage is included for environmental and natural resources management, administrative law, and comparative public administration. There are no geographical limitations, but particular emphasis is placed on European countries in support of the European Union documents collection. With the exception of administrative theory and ideology and classic texts in public administration, only mid- to late twentieth century and current materials are maintained in LIPA.
Holdings consist largely of scholarly journals, monographs [books], newsletters, and collections of essays or conference proceedings. Individual titles of institutionally sponsored research papers may be acquired on a case-by-case basis. Materials in public policy and public administration at a professional and practitioner level are purchased selectively. Collecting efforts in domestic public administration emphasize material either published in or translated into English. Materials in major European languages are purchased highly selectively, except in support of the international documents collection.