Research Guides: Public Administration & Policy *: Organizations/Think Tanks

Organizations/Think Tanks

American Society for Public Administration (ASPA)
The leading public service organization that advances the art, science, teaching, and practice of public and non-profit administration.
Center on Budget and Policy Priorities
An organization that conducts research and analysis intended to help shape public debates over proposed budget and tax policies and to help ensure that policymakers consider the needs of low-income families and individuals in these debates.

Economic Policy Institute This link opens in a new window
The Economic Policy Institute (EPI), a non-profit, non-partisan think tank, was created in 1986 to broaden discussions about economic policy to include the needs of low- and middle-income workers.
EPI believes every working person deserves a good job with fair pay, affordable health care, and retirement security. To achieve this goal, EPI conducts research and analysis on the economic status of working America.

International Public Management Network (IPMN)
A voluntary network and non-profit corporation that provides a forum for sharing ideas, concepts and results of research and practice in the field of public management, and to stimulate critical thinking about alternative approaches to problem solving and decision making in the public sector.
Kennedy School of Government Working Papers
This site provides links by author, title or subject to research papers produced by faculty within the Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University. Page is fully searchable by keyword.
National Academy of Public Administration
National Academy of Public Administration was established in 1967 and chartered by Congress, this is a non-profit, independent coalition of top public management and organizational leaders who tackle the nation’s most critical and complex challenges.
National Institute for Research Advancement (NIRA) Directory of Think Tanks
National Institute for Research Advancement (NIRA) Directory of Think Tanks provides a systematic introduction to the world's most prominent and innovative public policy research institutes, or "think tanks."
Partnership for Public Service
Partnership for Public Service is a nonprofit organization that works to revitalize our federal government by inspiring a new generation to serve and by transforming the way government works.
Public Policy Institute of California
A private nonprofit organization dedicated to informing and improving public policy in California through independent, objective, nonpartisan research. Publishes a variety of policy reports and research studies.

Related Databases

PolicyFile This link opens in a new window
Draws its content from public policy think tanks, university research programs, research organizations, and publishers. Covers all aspects of public policy.
PolicyFile includes information addressing virtually all aspects of public policy. Specific themes listed include: Arms Control, the Commonwealth of Independent States, Democratization, the Department of Defense, Economic Policy, Education Policy, the European Union, Global Economics and International Trade, Health Policy and Health Care Reform, Human Rights, Immigration, Intelligence, Latin America, Science and Technology Policy, State and Local Issues, Terrorism, and Urban Policy. The database can be browsed by primary contributor or thematically and all abstracts have been linked to Home Pages, electronic mail addresses and full text documents, where available.
CIAO Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window
Aggregates research in international affairs. Publishes a wide range of scholarship, including working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences.
Social Science Research Network This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and select full text of select scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers in economics, business, and law.
Gale Directory Library This link opens in a new window
Gale Directory Library allows you to search a variety of directories by name or keyword, including international research centers, broadcast media, associations, non-profit organizations, and government agencies.
ProQuest SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Energy related full text technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia, and data information from the U.S. Department of Energy’s (DOE) Office of Scienctific and Technical Information and predecessor agencies the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC).
Research Papers in Economics (RePEc) This link opens in a new window
Indexing and links to working papers in economics.

Directories and Resource Guides

Governing
Governing is a magazine that focuses on politics, policy and management for state and local government leaders.
GovLeaders.org
GovLeaders.org is a free on-line resource designed to help government managers cultivate a more effective and motivated public sector workforce.
Policy Agendas Project
Policy Agendas Project collects and organizes data from various archived sources to trace changes in the national policy agenda and public policy outcomes since the Second World War.