Veterans Services @ USC: Additional Resources

This guide provides contact information for available services at USC for Veterans.

Transitioning Resources

Your VA Transition Assistance Program (TAP)

About 200,000 service members transition to civilian life each year. The Transition Assistance Program (TAP) provides information, resources, and tools to service members and their loved ones to help prepare for the move from military to civilian life. Service members begin TAP one year prior to separation, or two years prior to retiring. Watch the video above to see how VA TAP helps service members transition from military to civilian life.

The VA portion of TAP is a one-day, in-person course called VA Benefits and Services. Led by VA Benefits Advisors, the course helps you understand how to navigate VA and the benefits and services you’ve earned through your military career. The course offers interactive exercises, real examples, and covers topics important to you like family support, disability compensation, education, and health care benefits.

 

  • The following is an additional source of information for transitioning military members:

OIF/OEF Veterans

Returning Service Members (OEF/OIF)

Welcome home and thank you for your service to our country! VA is ready to provide health care and more to our newest veterans returning from the armed services. Here are some of the benefits VA provides that you need to know about:

Healthcare Eligibility for 5 years.

Dental Benefits

OEF/OIF Programs

Federal Recovery Coordination Program

Primary Health Care for Veterans

Additional Benefits

 

Library of Congress - Veterans History Project

The Veterans History Project of the American Folklife Center collects, preserves, and makes accessible the personal accounts of American war veterans so that future generations may hear directly from veterans and better understand the realities of war.

 

 

US News Best VA Loans

U.S. National Archives and Records Administration - Services and Resources for Veterans

Services and Resources For Veterans

The National Archives and Records Administration can help veterans to obtain copies of their Military Service Records such as separation documents and medical records, and to get started with personal or historical research. We're also often the first step in obtaining important veterans benefits.

 

Veteran Service Organizations

Directory of Veterans Service Organizations

Online Directory of Veterans Service Organizations. This is published as an informational service by the Office of the Secretary of Veterans Affairs. This up-to-date, database driven website allows you to View VSO information in a variety of ways. You may also Search through the VSO database to find information that suits your needs.

Inclusion of an organization in the directory does not constitute approval or endorsement by VA or the United States Government of the organization or its activities. Some VSOs are "chartered", which means they are federally chartered and/or recognized or approved by the VA Secretary for purposes of preparation, presentation, and prosecution of claims under laws administered by the Department of Veterans Affairs. Inclusion of non-chartered organizations does not constitute or reflect VA recognition of said organization and its representatives for purposes of representation of VA claimants.

Other Services (listing of services does not constitute endorsement)

For veterans struggling with alcohol addiction The Alcohol Addiction Center provides some resources that may be of assistance. 

Resource for Veterans – Annuity.org has created a comprehensive resource for veterans. Included is information on qualifying for military benefits, veterans and social security, taking advantage of veteran’s savings plans, and much more. 

 Veterans Information Services - We offer two publication services in various packages which keep our readers updated on continually changing veterans benefits information.

Veterans who develop mesothelioma as a result of their service in the military are entitled to benefits and assistance from the U.S. government.  Additional information is found at:  https://www.mesotheliomaguide.com/veterans/

Returning to Your Career: A Guide to Coping with Career Transition Stress
https://www.learnhowtobecome.org/career-resource-center/managing-career-transitions/

How to Personalize Your Hunt for Jobs Online
https://www.learnhowtobecome.org/online-job-search-guide/

How to Nail Your Next Interview
https://www.learnhowtobecome.org/interview-dos-and-donts/