Historical Periodicals
- APS OnlineCovers 1740-1900.
- CIS Index to Early American PeriodicalsCovers 1700-1935.
- Wilson Readers Guide RetrospectiveCovers 1890-1982.
Sage videos and Business Cases
Sage provides videos on business, communication, skills, and more
- SAGE Business Cases This link opens in a new windowSAGE Business Cases is the first discipline-wide digital collection tailored to library needs. These cases bring business to life – inspiring researchers to develop their own best practices and prepare for professional success.
- SAGE Knowledge Video - Business & Management This link opens in a new window454 videos and over 143 hours are available in this collection. It includes in-depth interviews with experts from across the globe on topics as varied as innovation management, corporate social responsibility and social media marketing.
- SAGE Knowledge Video - Media & Communication This link opens in a new windowThis internationally diverse collection of over 125 hours and over 500 videos offers academic viewpoints and real-life insights into practices directly applicable to Communication and Media Studies courses.
- SAGE Research Methods Video This link opens in a new windowSAGE Research Methods Video includes hours of tutorials, interviews, video case studies, and mini-documentaries covering the entire research process.
- SAGE Research Methods Online and Cases This link opens in a new windowSAGE Research Methods includes books, articles, encyclopedias, and videos covering social science research design and methods including the complete Little Green Book series of Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences and the Little Blue Book series of qualitative research. Also includes case studies outlining the research methods used in real research projects.
Communication Research Databases
Here are a few databases to begin your research:
- Communication Source This link opens in a new windowIncludes articles from peer-reviewed journals and trade magazines covering mass media, marketing, communications, and related topics.
- EBSCO Business Source CompleteThis database provides articles from business journals, magazines and newspapers including the Harvard Business Review, McKinsey Quarterly and many others.
- EBSCOhost Business Abstracts with Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowBusiness related academic research on companies, industries, products and surveys.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA growing full text collection of core social science, humanities, and science journals and books.
- ProQuest Telecommunications Database This link opens in a new windowProQuest Telecommunications is a essential resource for anyone researching the industry or its technology.
- Academic OneFileAcademic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly.
- ProQuest Research -Multiple DatabaseProQuest Multiple Databases is a multi-disciplinary index suitable for both undergraduates and graduate students. It simultaneously searches dozens of subject areas, indexes thousands of general and scholarly titles, and provides full-text for a significant number of the articles included from a variety of contemporary research databases. It is an excellent starting place for research for a paper, particularly if one isn't sure where to begin their research.
- OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson)OmniFile Full Text, Mega Edition™ contains a wealth of essential material for learning and detailed research in a single, easily-searched database. With the full text of articles from over 2,500 publications, and indexing and abstracts from nearly 3,600 publications, this database provides invaluable support for research in all core undergraduate subjects and for cross-disciplinary work.
- ABI/INFORM CompleteArticles from leading business journals, magazines, trade publications and newspapers including the Wall Street Journal. Available through ProQuest Articles from leading business journals, magazines, trade publications and newspapers including the Wall Street Journal. Available through ProQuest
- SAGE PremierAccess to more than 500 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
- Business Insights Global This link opens in a new windowBusiness Insights: Global is a source for international business intelligence offering the most comprehensive and convenient way to find case studies, in-depth statistical data coupled with deep research, and the ability to compare global economies, countries and industries. Also known as Gale Business Insights.
- Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowSocial Sciences Full Text provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences.
- ProQuest Social Science database This link opens in a new windowThis database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology.
Secondary Article Databases
- ERICEducation resources information center that covers 1966-present.
- Ethnic NewsWatchComprehensive full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
- Bloomsbury Fashion Central This link opens in a new windowBloomsbury Fashion Central is a dynamic digital hub for interdisciplinary research in fashion and dress. Includes the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, an extensive E-Book collection, a vast image bank, and links to related reference resources.
- GenderWatchDatabase for gender studies.
- PAIS InternationalPublic affairs database.
- Women's Studies InternationalThis is an index to the core disciplines in women’s studies and feminist research.
- Sociological AbstractsAbstracts over 2,000 journals in sociology and related fields from 1963-present.
- SPORTDiscus with Full TextSPORTDiscus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for more than 440 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus. Full-text coverage dates back to 1985.
- PsycINFOPsychology-related journals and other sources from 1887-present.
- Linguistics & Language Behavior AbstractsAbstracts of linguistics-related articles from 1973-present.
- Social Sciences Citation IndexThe Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes 1,700 journals spanning 50 disciplines.
- IEEE XploreDatabase for telecommunications.
- Norris Medical Library ResourcesIncludes Medline for health-related topics
Subject Guide
Chimene Tucker
Contact:
Doheny Memorial Library
room 224
cetucker@usc.edu
room 224
cetucker@usc.edu
213-740-2332
Subjects: Communication & Journalism, Gender & LGBTQ Studies
Case Studies
Here are a few databases to locate Case Studies:
- EmeraldTo search for Case Studies, under Resources select Teaching Zone, then, Case studies Collection.
- WARCWARC provides a wide range of information on advertising and marketing trends around the world including expenditure data, case studies, industry trends and consumer insight.
- ProQuest Research LibrarySelect Advance Search and for Document type: select Case Study