Events and News
- Voices for Justice: 200 Years of Latino Newspapers in the United States Exhibit, film screening, discussion organized by USC Prof. Felix Gutierrez.
- Visions and Voices The USC Arts and Humanities Initiative
Search Tips
Tip 1. Examples of subjects and key words to use when searching databases and online library catalogs recommended in this LibGuide:
- Ethnic Press--United States,
- Hispanic American newspapers,
- Hispanic American journalists,
- Newspapers--United States,
- Journalism--Mexican-American border region,
- Mexican American and mass media
Tip 2. When searching in special subject databases such as the Chicano Database and the Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI Online), use only words in English or Spanish such as
- press or
- prensa or
- newspapers or
- periodicos
Introduction
Welcome to the guide to Latino and Spanish language newspapers published in the United States!
This guide is designed to help you learn more about the history and role of the Latino and Spanish-language press in the daily life and political struggles of communities in Los Angeles and throughout the United States.
It provide assistance in locating books, articles, Web, microform and printed primary sources.
The resources in this guide cover a wealth of information about the often "forgotten pages" of U.S. Latino and Spanish-language newspapers from 1808 to the present.
For questions or assistance contact brobinso@usc.edu
Selected Online Newspapers and Databases
See also the subsection in this guide under the tab above: "Find Web Resources: Find Newspapers on the Web."
- El Clamor Publico, 1855-1859 The first Spanish language weekly newspaper in Los Angeles, California, after the Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo was signed. Search or browse for it in USC's Digital Library.
- Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 From Readex Newsbank, this collection contains many Fulltext Spanish language newspapers from 22 states in the United States. Searchable by dates and "eras", article types, languages, place of publication, and newspaper title.
- Ethnic NewsWatch An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press.
- Ethnic NewsWatch: History Provides the historical foreground to the ethnic, minority, and native press content in Ethnic NewsWatch, with over 300,000 full-text articles dating from 1959-1989. Pivotal events in these decades are covered - the civil rights struggle, Vietnam War protests, dramatic changes in immigration law and more.
- California Newspaper Project A bibliographic database of nearly 9,000 California newspapers held in California libraries, including many related to Chicano and Latino studies. Indicates location.
Librarian, Chicano and Latino Studies |
Barbara RobinsonDoheny Memorial Library 250
(213) 821-2261
Send Email
Subjects:
Spanish and Portuguese, Latin American Studies, History: Latin America, Chicano and Latino Studies




Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait