Skip to main content

Political Science *: Environmental Policy

Below are links to databases and scholarly web sites that support the study of political science and its related sub-disciplines.

Environmantal Policy Research Resources

Below are links to databases and electronic resources that support the study of environmental policy and related areas of research. For additional resources, GO HERE.

MULTIDISCIPLINARY

Databases that offer multidisciplinary coverage of environmental policy literature from scholarly and non-scholarly sources.

  • CQ Researcher --   in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports are published weekly 44 times a year.
  • Google Scholar -- the scholarly part of the Google empire. To set up Google Scholar with access to full-text journals and databases, go here.
  • JSTOR -- a multidisciplinary archive of scholarly journal articles covering most major disciplines in the social sciences and humanities. Useful for identifying historical research on a topic.
  • ProQuest -- comprehensive, multidisciplinary database of newspaper, magazine, and scholarly journal articles updated daily. Content is more focused and manageable than Google Scholar.

SPECIALIZED RESEARCH RESOURCES

Key Databases

  • Environment Index -- provides access to articles from domestic and international journals, books and conference papers covering applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine and freshwater science, geography, pollution and waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
  • GreenFile -- indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. Focuses on offering a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment, drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, and health and technology.
  • Pollution Abstracts -- Offers coverage on scientific research and government policies for air pollution, marine pollution, freshwater Pollution, sewage and wastewater treatment, waste management and land pollution. It also covers effects of pollution on people and animals, and environmental action in response to global pollution issues.
  • Water Resources Abstracts -- provides summaries from 1967 to the present of the world's technical, scientific, and public policy literature on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources as well as the legal aspects of water supply, use, control, or management.

Related Research Databases

  • Earth, Atmospheric and Aquatic Science Collection -- provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications focused on studying the critical issues affecting Earth’s air, land, and water environments.
  • Environmental Issues Online -- uses text, archival primary sources and video to address major past and ongoing environmental issues—water challenges, air pollution, biodiversity, climate change, energy issues, consumption and waste issues, and land issues—in comparative, historical, global and interdisciplinary ways that lie at the intersections of the social sciences, the biological and earth sciences, the humanities, legal studies and policy.
  • HeinOnline Law Journal Library -- full text access to digitized content of more than 2,600 law and law-related periodicals that cover criminal justice, political science, technology, human rights, and more. Coverage for all journals is from first issue and volume through the current issue or volume for most titles.
  • Sociological Abstracts -- primary resource for accessing the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database draws information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and doctoral dissertations.

ANOTHER PERSPECTIVE

Databases that offer the opportunity to understand and contemplate the implications of policy decisions through the eyes of those who may be most impacted by those decisions.

  • Chicano Database -- bibliographic index focuses on the Mexican-American and Chicano experience, and the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans and Central American immigrants since 1992. Covers Chicano/a art, education, folklore, health. history, labor, language and literature, music, politics, public policy, religion, sociology, and women's studies.
  • Ethnic NewsWatch -- includes current and archival coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic and minority presses. Very important database for gaining a perspective and an understanding of civic engagement from underrepresented groups and minorities.
  • GenderWatch -- a full-text database that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. Publications include academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, NGO and special reports.
  • LGBT Life -- the premier resource to the world\'s literature regarding Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender and Transsexual issues with coverage that includes traditional academic, lifestyle, and regional publications, as well as non-periodical content such as non-fiction books, bibliographies and dissertations.

DATA AND STATISTICS

  • Climate Data Online -- provides free access to National Centers for Environmental Information's archive of global historical weather and climate data in addition to station history information. These data include quality controlled daily, monthly, seasonal, and yearly measurements of temperature, precipitation, wind, and degree days as well as radar data and 30-year Climate Normals.
  • Data Observation Network for Earth -- supported by the U.S. National Science Foundation, DataONE is a community driven project providing access to data across multiple member repositories, supporting enhanced search and discovery of Earth and environmental data.
  • EarthTrends Maps and Data -- an online collection of information regarding the environmental, social, and economic trends that shape the world. The site offers statistical, graphic, and analytical data in easily accessible formats by gathering data from the world’s leading statistical agencies, along with maps and analyzes, into a single database.
  • Energy Information Administration – federal agency that collects, analyzes, and disseminates independent and impartial energy information to promote sound policymaking, efficient markets, and public understanding of energy and its interaction with the economy and the environment.
  • Envirofacts -- allows you to search topical or multiple environmental databases for facility information, including toxic chemical releases, water discharge permit compliance, hazardous waste handling processes, Superfund status, and air emission estimates. Search the database using any combination of the following criteria: facility name, geography, facility industrial classification, or pollutant. A search returns a list of facilities that match the criteria entered.
  • Environmental Dataset Gateway -- provides access to EPA data sources, organized into topics such as air and water that are in easily downloadable formats. Data Finder points to data in downloadable formats to speed up environmental research. For each data source, you can see a basic overview, including the geographic scale and other contextual information, then access the data source itself.
  • Global Change Master Directory -- contains more than 29,000 Earth science data set and service descriptions, which cover subject areas within the Earth and environmental sciences. The project mission is to assist researchers, policy makers, and the public in the discovery of and access to data, related services, and ancillary information (which includes descriptions of instruments and platforms) relevant to global change and Earth science research.
  • Water Data for the Nation -- provides access to water resources data collected at approximately 1.9 million sites in all fifty States, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, Guam, American Samoa and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands. Online access to this data is organized around the categories related the occurrence, quantity, quality, distribution, and movement of surface and underground waters.

Descriptions of resources are adapted or quoted from vendor websites.

Organizations

  • American Water Works Association -- the largest nonprofit, scientific and educational association dedicated to managing and treating water, the world’s most important resource.
  • Carbon Disclosure Project -- runs the global disclosure system that enables companies, cities, states, and regions to measure and manage their environmental impacts.
  • Ceres -- a sustainability nonprofit organization working with investors and companies to build leadership and drive solutions throughout the economy to address the world’s biggest sustainability challenges, including climate change, water scarcity, and pollution control.
  • Climate Reality Project -- committed to building a more just and equitable world around solving the climate crisis by building a coalition that includes indigenous peoples, low-income families, people of color, and other historically marginalized groups who represent frontline communities who experience harmful climate impacts.
  • Earth First! -- a radical environmental advocacy and protest organization devoted to protecting ecological preserves across the United States and aggressively promoting concepts of conservation biology.
  • Earthwatch Institute -- devoted to engaging people worldwide in scientific field research and education in order to promote the understanding and action necessary for a sustainable environment.
  • Greenpeace-- a global, independent campaigning organization that uses peaceful protest and creative communication to expose global environmental problems and promote solutions that are essential to a green and peaceful future.
  • Invasive Species Information -- a collaboration a grant-funded project developed among several agencies to provide information, including photos, videos and maps, on invasive species in North America.
  • Local Governments for Sustainability -- a global network of more than 1,750 local and regional governments committed to influencing sustainability policy and drive local action for low emission, nature-based, equitable, resilient, and circular sustainable urban development.
  • National Snow and Ice Data Center -- supports research concerning the snow, ice, glaciers, frozen ground, and climate interactions that make up Earth’s cryosphere. NSIDC manages and distributes scientific data, creates tools for data access, supports data users, performs scientific research, and educates the public about the cryosphere. 
  • National Wildlife Federation -- a non-profit that works in communities across the country to protect and restore wildlife habitat, confront global warming, and connect people with nature.
  • Natural Resources Defense Council -- founded in 1970, this organization works to ensure the rights of all people to clean air, clean water, and healthy communities and initiates legal action in defense of the environment.
  • Sierra Club -- grassroots environmental organization that advocates for mitigating climate change, reducing unprecedented levels of pollution, and confronting powerful special interests undermining basic protections.
  • Wilderness Society -- collaborates closely with local communities to safeguard wild places for future generations by advocating for legal protections and defending national policies that give protections for national forests, parks, refuges, and Bureau of Land Management lands.

Descriptions of resources are adapted or quoted from vendor websites.