Listed below are scholarly databases and research resources that cover international political affairs and will help you find information about specific countries.
NEWSPAPERS AND POPULAR MEDIA
- Access World News -- comprehensive news collection for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos.
- ABYZ News Links -- a directory of links to online news sources from around the world with contents organized on a geographical basis. The directory contains links to newspapers and other sites with news content such as broadcast stations, internet services, magazines, and press agencies.
- AccessUN -- indexes the majority of United Nations documents and publications. Articles appearing in UN periodicals are individually indexed as well as bilateral and multilateral treaties in the UN Treaty Series.
- Europa: Gateway to the European Union -- provides up-to-date coverage of European Union affairs and essential information on European integration. Users can consult all legislation currently in force or under discussion, access the websites of each of the EU institutions, and find out about the policies administered by the European Union under the powers devolved to it by the Treaties.
- IREON [International Relations and Area Studies Gateway] – a database produced by research organizations, libraries, and documentation centers from various European countries that enables searching for journals, collected essays, conference and research papers, official publications, books, and international treaties in the areas of foreign and security policy, international cooperation and development, international economics, European and transatlantic issues, and foreign cultural policy.
- OECDiLibrary -- this is the full-text publications portal of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). As well as collecting comparable statistics and economic and social data, OECD monitors trends, analyzes and forecasts economic developments and researches social changes or evolving patterns in trade, environment, agriculture, technology, taxation and more.
- United Nations iLibrary -- provides a single digital destination for accessing research reports, journals, data, and publication series distributed by the United Nations Secretariat and its funds and programs.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts -- provides indexing of the international journal literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration and policy. Over 1,700 titles are monitored for coverage and, of these, 67% are published outside of the United States.
- BBC Country Profiles -- a comprehensive guide to history, politics, and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. Also included are audio and video clips from BBC archives.
- CIA World Factbook -- provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
- Economist Intelligence Unit [EIU] Country Reports -- a source of business intelligence on political and economic trends in 200 countries from 1996 to the present. An overall profile of each country is provided annually and a current report is produced quarterly. Both include current detailed statistics.
U.S. Department of State Country Reports
- Human Rights Practices – annual reports to Congress on the status of internationally recognized human rights practices per country. Online archive from 1999-present.
- Religious Freedom – describes the status of religious freedom in each foreign country, government policies violating religious belief and practices of groups, religious denominations, and individuals, and U.S. policies to promote religious freedom around the world. Online archive from 1999-present.
- Terrorism – reports on where terrorist acts have occurred, state sponsorship of terrorism and assessments of terrorist groups. Online archive from 1995-present.
- Trafficking of Persons – an annually updated, global look at the nature and scope of trafficking in persons and the broad range of government actions to confront and eliminate it. Online archive from 2001-present.
Descriptions of resources are adapted or quoted from vendor websites.