Skip to main content

Political Science *: California Resources

Below are links to databases and scholarly web sites that support the study of political science and its related sub-disciplines.

Archival Resources

Archival Resources

  • California Digital Newspaper Collection (CDNC) -- this historical newspaper collection provides access to over 400,000 pages of significant historical California newspapers published from 1846-1922, including the first California newspaper, the Californian, and the first daily California newspaper, the Daily Alta California. The database also contains issues of several current California newspapers as part of a pilot project to preserve and provide access to contemporary newspapers.
  • California Ethnic and Multicultural Archives (CEMA ) -- a program that advances scholarship in ethnic studies through its varied collections of primary research materials. Digital collections document the lives and activities of African Americans, Asian/Pacific Americans, Chicanos/Latinos, and Native Americans in California. The collections represent the cultural, artistic, ethnic, and racial diversity that characterizes the state's population.
  • California Public Records -- a site maintained by the Los Angeles Times that includes government documents obtained by reporters for stories they have written as well as materials submitted by readers.
  • California State Archives -- collects, catalogs, preserves, and provides access to the historic records of state government and some local governments. The Archives collection is primarily composed of records from California state agencies, the governor's office, the state legislature, and the State Supreme Court and Courts of Appeal.
  • Calisphere -- the University of California's gateway to more than 150,000 digitized items, including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts, that reveal the diverse history and culture of California and its role in national and world history.
  • JoinCalifornia -- a comprehensive online archive of California election results, with candidate biographies and information about state legislative races since 1898 and federal and statewide offices going back to 1849. This information includes 13,402 candidates running in 24,153 races in 493 elections.
  • Online Archive of California (OAC) -- provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 150 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California and collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses.
  • UCLA Online Campaign Literature Archive -- a directory of sites about legislative candidates from districts which are substantially within Los Angeles County, state elections gathered that include U.S. congressmen, California state-wide offices and measures, and California state legislators, and municipal elections gathered include those associated with Los Angeles County; the cities of Los Angeles, Santa Monica, Beverly Hills, and Culver City; and any special districts (school districts, water districts, etc.) that substantially overlap those cities.

Descriptions of resources are adapted or quoted from vendor websites.

California Ballot Measures

Listed below are sites where you can obtain information on and the full-text of California ballot measures and propositions:

California Bills and Legislation

To search for bills from the 1993-1994 legislative session to the most current session, use the Official California Legislative Information Web site listed below. Also use this site if you are doing a legislative history of a California law that passed no earlier than the 1993-1994 legislative session. Searching by bill number is most efficient way to do this. For older documents, search the HathiTrust digital archive linked below.

Below are sites where one can locate bills and other legislative documents:

  • California State Assembly, Office of the Chief Clerk--provides quick links to the Assembly Daily File, Assembly Journals and Histories, as well as the Legislative Calendar and Rules. Access Official Publications Archives by clicking on the "Bills & Legislature" link on the left.
  • California Legislature Portal--offers access to bill information, lists of standing committees and committee hearings, as well as the California Code, Statutes, Constitution, and other official publications.
  • FindLaw's California Codes--links to official Web sites, but also allows users to search the California Constitution's Table of Contents, the California Codes, and California Statutes.
  • HathiTrust Digital Library, California Legislative Publications 1850 – 2009 -- a searchable, full-text collection of California Legislative publications including Senate and Assembly Bills (1911-1988); Statutes and Journals (1849-2009); Final Calendars (1899 - 2011); and other titles.
  • Official California Legislative Information--the official site for California legislative information. May access bill information, the California codes, and various legislative publications (including the Daily File, the Senate & Assembly Daily Journals, and a database of Agency Reports.

California Data Sources

This is a list of directories where one can locate statistics about California:

  • California Free Public Records--a comprehensive list of statewide public record resources for California with additional resources that can be searched on county, city, and category pages.
  • Rand Corporation -- provides a variety of information about the state of California, including statistical tables on business and economics, population and demographics, education, health, government finance, and politics and public opinion as well as the information and links to publications from leading California public policy and research institutions and California Policy Bulletins that summarize state government news.
  • SCAG GIS and Data Service Program -- a source for customized demographic and economic studies, data and analysis, Geographic Information Systems (GIS) analysis, and mapping for the Southern California region. Also includes links to economic and demographic data sets.
  • University of California, Doe/Moffitt Libraries -- directory of links to selected California statistics.

California Election Information

Listed below are sites devoted to providing election information and analysis for California:

  • @LA Politics: Elections Information -- a comprehensive and well-maintained resource directory of links to general politics and current election information focused on Los Angeles and Southern California.
  • Calbuzz -- a site for current political news, analysis, and commentary that includes an archives of enrties beginning in January 2009. Also includes a subject index.
  • JoinCalifornia -- a growing online archive of California election results that include candidate biographies and information on state legislative races since 1898, and federal and statewide offices going back to 1849. This information includes 13,542 candidates running in 24,499 races in 502 elections.
  • Rough & Tumble -- a clearinghouse of links to newspaper stories focused on California politics and public policy. Updated daily with an archive of links maintained for about two weeks.
  • Statewide Database: the Redistricting Database for the State of California -- a database that includes voting, registration, and geographic datasets for for statewide elections beginning in 1992 as well as coverage of redistricting court cases, redistricting news for all states, and other resources such as research on redistricting criteria, initiative language, and maps.

California Judiciary and Case Law

California Judiciary

  • Judicial Council's California Courts--provides access to the "Opinions" page of the Courts [located at the top left-hand corner of the screen]. Slip opinions from the last 120 days are posted as Word and PDF files. Also available is a searchable opinions database (1850 to present), which is updated monthly and are current to within 90 days of filing. Searching is free, but limited to personal use.
  • California Appellate Courts Case Information--system provides case information for California Supreme Court and Court of Appeals cases. Case information is updated once an hour throughout the business day. Select a jurisdiction, then search by case number, by party, by attorney or by case caption. Once you find your case, you can sign up for email notification of specific case activity.

California Case Law

  • Supreme Court of California (SCOCAL)--a joint project between the Robert Crown Law Library at Stanford Law School and Justia, Inc. That provides free access to the full text California Supreme Court opinions from 1934 to the present, along with detailed annotations of selected cases. Also includes some briefs and other docs available for selected cases.
  • FindLaw's California Cases--offers free comprehensive California case law from 1934 to present but system requires you to register before beginning search.
  • Public Library of Law--database of cases from all 50 states back to 1997. Use the "Advanced Search" box to limit by jurisdiction. Access is free, but registration required to view the full text.

Databases/Directories

LEXIS/NEXIS State Capital

Provides comprehensive access to state bills and laws, constitutions, proposed and enacted, regulations, newspapers of record articles about legislative issues affecting the states.


Los Angeles Times

Full-text access to the Los Angeles Times newspaper from 1985 to the present. Contents are updated daily. Historical content back to the first issue published in 1881 can be found here.

Access World News

Comprehensive news collection for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Includes many local California newspapers and news outlets.


State and Local Government on the Net

This site provides a comprehensive set of over 5,500 links to state agencies, servers controlled by local government agencies, and servers with a domain that is associated with a city or county government. Also included under the executive branch heading are state and local commissions and boards. This is one of the best sites for finding obscure local government home pages. Useful for quickly locating city or town websites.


State Legislatures Internet Links

This database contains information gleaned from the home pages and websites of the fifty state legislatures, the District of Columbia and the Territories. You can select to view specific website content materials [such as, bills, press rooms, statutes] from all states, one state or a selected list of states.

Descriptions of resources are adapted or quoted from vendor websites.

Basic Constitutional Law and Criminal Procedures

Constitutional Law and Criminal Procedures

Produced by the the Aizman and Shiffman law firm, this site provides definitions and information about fundamental constitutional rights and legal procedures written in an accessible, jargon-free style.

News Feeds and Analysis Services

California Watch
Sponsored by the independent, nonpartisan Center for Investigative Reporting, produces and distributes investigative news stories through collaborative relationships with local and regional news organizations and through social media.

Capitol Alert
Sponsored by the Sacramento Bee newspaper, this site provides daily news and updates concerning California politics and current events. The site includes links to the latest California and national political news and information about California legislators.

CalNews.com
This site provides news and information about California politics, public policy, and government activities on a daily basis. The site includes links to policy updates from Sacramento and Washington, DC from local and regional newspapers as well as a separate section devoted to columnist opinions.

Rough and Tumble
Online clearinghouse of newspaper articles, reports, and press releases concerning California public policy and political issues. This is an outstanding site for obtaining local and regional news coverage on current issues and to access archived links to historical information. Includes a resource page linking to California newspapers and news organizations.

Stateline.org
Stateline.org was founded in order to help journalists, policy makers, and engaged citizens become better informed about innovative public policies. Covering all fifty states, special focus is given to the issues of welfare reform, land use, the environment, growth management, transportation, taxes and state budgets, healthcare, education [especially the manner in which public schools are financed], and campaign finance reform.

Uncover California
A current affairs news site covering political and local news from Sacramento, local news from the Bay Area and issues related to
CleanTech and energy, education, business, science and technology, law and local crime, and health and fitness. The politics tab features current news briefs on politics and political events throughout the state.

Descriptions of resources are adapted or quoted from vendor websites.