Here is a list of public services that provide access to comics.
Some of services and materials are region specific so check your local library services for access.
Public Libraries
Local public libraries provide free access to comics as long as you have a library card. Public library cards are a free service for residents of a library branches' county.
Physical collections vary in size and scope depending on the library. If your local public library does not have a title you want you can request an item through Inter-library Loan and the requesting library will borrow it from a different library.
For more information about USC's ILL services click the link below:
USC Interlibrary Loan and Document Services
Check the link below for information about the Los Angeles Public Library library card and ILL services.
E-book Services from Public Libraries
Public Libraries can also provide access to e-book repositories such as Overdrive, Hoopla, and Libby. These services tend to to provide a wider range of titles more quickly then physical services but there are restrictions. For example, Overdrive works similarly to physical book access. There's a specific amount of copies available and there's a maximum amount books you can borrow at once. In contrast, Hoopla allows you to borrow items immediately but you can only borrow a set amount of items per month.
Check the link below for information on Los Angles Public Libraries Electronic Services.
A website that provides access to both formally published comics and self-published web comics.
An archive of public domain Golden and Silver Age American comics (comics published from the early to mid 20th century).
Here is a list of resources for comic research such as databases of important artists in the comic medium, sales statistics, and research bibliographies.
A website that compiles market research about comics such as sales figures, market analyses, and industry reports.
A database of resources and research bibliographies for comics and graphic novels.
A global encyclopedic database that records comic information from around the world. This includes but is not limited to: writers, publishers, inkers, and comic titles. This database is especially helpful for people who want information on specific artists and their work.
Google Arts and Culture- Manga Out of the Box
A collection of resources about the history of manga. This collection covers the artistic influences on manga, important manga artists, manga adaptions, and more.