Catalog Search
Here is a list of keywords to input into the search engines to find material:
Comics, comic strips, comics books, graphic novels, manga, sequential art, cartoonist, webcomics
If you want comics about a specific topic:
1. Click the advance search option at the top of the catalog page
2. Set first field to keyword and put in one of the keywords listed above.
3. Click the plus button to add another search field. Repeat this step as needed.
4. For the new search fields set the first field to keyword and type in the necessary search information. For example, the name of a country (Belgium, France, Japan), the name of a specific group of people (African Americans, Jewish, LGBTQ+), or a particular subject (medicine, history, education).
Physical items can be picked up from their respective libraries with a few notable exceptions:
1.If the item is in Grand, an off campus storage facility, then you can place a request through the IDD link posted below.
https://libraries.usc.edu/interlibrary-loan-and-document-services
2. If you are a University Park Campus (UPC) patron who requests an item from the Health Science Campus (HSC), then you need to make request through Inter-library Loan and Document Delivery (IDD) services to have it delivered to Leavey Library. If you are HSC patron who needs something from UPC then you make a request through ILL services to have it delivered to Norris Medical Library. See link below for more information on IDD Services.
3. If the item is located in the ONE Archives then it cannot be loaned. These items can only be viewed in the archives. For more information on researching in the ONE Archive check the link here:
Alexander Street provides access to a database of Independent and Underground comics. This database includes archives from defunct comic publishers such as EC comics and Gold Key, works from well known indie creators such as the Hernandez brothers, and supplementary nonfiction like the Comic Journal.
Underground and Independent Comics
Alexander Street provides access to an archive of Archie Comics, a publisher known for titles such as Archie, Josie and the Pussycats, and Sabrina the Teenage Witch.
ProQuest Literature has a depository of comics and comic book scholarship. The link below contains the search results from items with Library of Congress tag for comics.
ProQuest: Comics and Graphic Novels
Librairan Renee A. Rau created a libGuide for Graphic Medicine, the use of comics for discussion around the subject of medicine.