Research Guides: DSM 550: Analytics and Research Methodology: Statistics & Data

Demographic Statistics

Insider Intelligence (formerly known as eMarketer) This link opens in a new window
Provides analysis, market data, and statistics on the Internet, e-commerce, online marketing, social media, and emerging digital technologies around the world.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is one of the first statistic portals in the world to integrate data on over 80.000 topics from over 18.000 sources onto a single professional platform and providing companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.

Editor & Publisher Market Guide
Demographic and market data for 1600 cities in the U.S. and Canada.
SBDC Demographics
The official National Information Clearinghouse serving the Small Business Development Center Network and America's small business community. Search the Library Links for demographic information
InfoNation
Can compare country statistics for telephone lines, internet users, television receivers, and newspaper circulation.

The Census is a great location for demographic information.

Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world.

Consumer Expenditure Survey

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics data on expenditures, income and consumer unit characterisitics.

Statistical Software at USC

For details on how to access specific statistical software see:

software.usc.edu

Datasets available through USC Libraries and Open Source Resources

Cross-National Time-Series Data Archive This link opens in a new window
The Cross-National Time-Series Data Archive is a data set comprised of more than 200 years of annual data from 1815 onward for over 200 countries. Its 196 variables are used by academia, government, finance and media.

Current Population Survey (CPS)

Data Planet Statistical Datasets This link opens in a new window
Data-Planet (formerly ProQuest Statistical DataSets) is an interactive database that allows users to create tables, maps, and figures from a variety data sources covering banking, criminal justice, education,energy, food and agriculture, government, health, housing and construction,industry and commerce, labor and employment, natural resources and environment, income, cost of living, stocks, transportation, and more.
Data holdings for the United States are significant with some data available at state, county, or local geographies. International data,available at the country level, include population, food and agriculture, labor, trade, and more. Data are organized by subject and source.

Tags: Dataplanet

Data Sharing for Demographic Research (DSDR)
more...less...
To download datasets, please create an account using your USC email.
FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data)
General Social Survey (GSS)
Harvard Dataverse Network
Historical Statistics of the United States
IMF Data

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new window
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), established in 1962, is an integral part of the infrastructure of social science research.
ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction.

IPUMS

ISI Emerging Markets/ This link opens in a new window
ISI Emerging Markets (now known as EMIS) provides coverage of emerging economies in Africa, Asia, Europe and Latin America including articles, financial statements, industry analyses, equity quotes, macroeconomic statistics, and market-specific information.
Official Aviation Guide (OAG) Dataset This link opens in a new window
This dataset provides US domestic flight schedules, including airline information (carrier code, name, flight number, etc.) and routing information (airport code, departure and arrival time, stops, number of seats, etc.) from 2008-2017 by year and month.

Panel Study of Income Dynamics (PSID) Series

ProQuest International DataSets This link opens in a new window
ProQuest International Datasets is a collection of public and private datasets from national governments, international organizations, and research firms.
A focus of the product is sub-national data for the countries of the world that is, data by country, city, state or province.
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
An annual summary publication of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
ProQuest Statistical Abstracts of the World This link opens in a new window
A growing collection of the statistical abstracts from many countries.
These statistical abstracts are generally issued by the national statistical offices of foreign governments and contain country-level data not easily found elsewhere. Global and regional statistical compendia issued by international organizations are included.
ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Include a detailed description of a publication's statistical contents and primary bibliographic information like title, date, collation, agency report number (if any), and periodicity.
Whenever possible, the Superintendent of Documents classification number, the Library of Congress card number, the Government Printing Office (GPO) Monthly Catalog entry number, the GPO stock number, and the depository item number are also included. The abstract may also contain two hypertext links - one to the agency's World Wide Web site where the full text of the publication may be viewed and downloaded; the other to the full text on Statistical Universe, where the publication can be viewed, downloaded and accessed section by section or table by table.
Roper Center Public Opinion Archives (with iPOLL) This link opens in a new window
Provided by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research at Cornell University, Roper iPoll is the largest collection of public opinion poll data with results from 1935 to the present. Roper iPoll contains nearly 800,000 questions and over 23,000 datasets from both U.S. and international polling firms. Surveys cover any number of topics including, social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, science, the environment, and much more. When available, results charts, demographic crosstabs and full datasets are provided for immediate download.
.
SAGE Research Methods Online and Cases This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods includes books, articles, encyclopedias, and videos covering social science research design and methods including the complete Little Green Book series of Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences and the Little Blue Book series of qualitative research. Also includes case studies outlining the research methods used in real research projects.

UNIDO Statistics This link opens in a new window
UNIDO (United Nations Industrial Development Organization) maintains a variety of databases comprising statistics of overall industrial growth, detailed data on business structure and statistics on major indicators of industrial performance by country in the historical time series.
The databases are updated regularly with the most recent data.

Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) This link opens in a new window
Collection of databases designed for quantitative analysis of financial data: Compustat Global & EMDB; Fama French Momentum and Liquidity; Audit Analytics; EVENTUS; Blockholders; CUSIP Master File; Federal Reserve Bank Reports; Bureau van Dijk; DMEF - Direct Marketing Educational Foundation; FDIC; Bank Regulatory; CBOE Indexes; Execcomp; CRSP - Center for Research in Security Prices; Compustat North America; Dow Jones; Mutual Funds Links (MFLINKS); Thomson Reuters; TRACE; NYSE TAQ; PHLX; SEC Disclosure of Order Execution; I/B/E/S International; IRI - Information Resources Inc.; Penn World Tables.

World Bank Microdata Library